Atlassian Data Center vs Cloud - What to choose and when

Atlassian Cloud vs Data Center

Share

Atlassian Cloud or Data Center. Both deployment methods have their advantages and disadvantages. Currently, what you choose mainly depends on your requirements, the number of users you need on your systems, the security specifications of your IT-Department and the long term strategy of your organization.

Before we further discuss when to choose Data Center or Cloud, let’s first tackle the various pros and cons of each system.

Atlassian Data Center

Atlassian Data Center is a self-hosted method to run your Jira or Confluence systems. Data Centers have the feature of routing server requests through different nodes that are self-hosted. In the event of one node failing, the others are able to handle the load. A server system with different nodes would be worth the effort when an instance has 500 or more users. However, there, are occasions when there are as few as 250 users. Data Centers can save you money in the long run, especially if your company is growing quickly or you want to grow.

Using Atlassian Data Center you are able to take full control over your IT Infrastructure. This way you can:

  • Reduce downtime to a self-controlled minimum
  • Scale the required infrastructure to your requirements (on demand)
  • Full control over data protection and data security
  • Control over the updates for your system
  • Unlimited number of users

Data Centers are independent of the number of users you need for your organization. The Atlassian Cloud, on the other hand, is currently limited to 20.000 users. (They are currently testing up to 50.000 users at Atlassian.)

Atlassian Cloud

The Cloud is here, and it won’t go away. On-premise solutions are no longer an option (at least for most organizations). The question though remains, do you want to follow the trend and be an early adopter, or will you miss the opportunity to adopt future-proof technologies?

Serverless infrastructure (cloud) offers many benefits to organizations throughout the world. Additionally, Atlassian's constant work towards optimizing its product is paying off: concerns regarding security and compliance are being taken seriously and appropriate steps are being taken to close the gaps. Let's take a look at exactly why you should consider the cloud option for your business, now that you know how it works in Atlassian products:

  • 100% Availability: The Atlassian Cloud has guaranteed availability of 99,95%.
  • Faster configuration: Setup and configure new instances within just a few minutes.
  • Automatic Updates: The Atlassian Cloud receives updates as soon as they’re available. No more manual updates *🎉*.
  • Increased productivity: Leverage modern tools, approaches and features to your advantage and save valuable resources (time)
  • Reduced Management costs: The time for physical hardware, manual maintenance, sunk costs and upgrades are finally over. Moving to the cloud clearly saves you money by removing infrastructure costs from the equation.
  • Pay for what you use and when you use it -> cost-effectiveness

Learn more about hosting Atlassian apps here via Data Center or Cloud here.

Atlassian Cloud or Data Center - What to choose and when

Data Centers are chosen by organisations when their Atlassian applications have become "business and mission critical". Ask yourself what the costs of a system failure would be and how valuable the Atlassian applications are in your organization. In the event that your entire development team were unable to work due to a system failure, this would be particularly adverse for your business as you pay for the work generated.

In addition, certain organizations have an enhanced need for data control and privacy. Hosting your own Data Center on your own servers means you have complete control over the upkeep and maintenance of the servers, but also have full control over the data at your disposal. Companies with extensive security needs, like banks or health insurers, may find this to be a crucial factor.

Cloud is a long-term investment that allows companies to scale, improve employee productivity, increase speed, and increase innovation.

With both models - cloud and Data Center - you gain reliability, increased productivity, and cost savings. Server users who wish to continue to maintain their own IT infrastructure should consider switching to Data Center.

As you can see, both models have their advantages. In the end, the main factors of choosing cloud over Data Center are up to your requirements.

Need help evaluating the different possibilities? Our Atlassian expert will help you choose the right solution for your requirements and needs.

Get in touch with us today.

This might also interest you

Mario Schaefer 2022-05-12
0

The first Girls' Day at XALT 2022.

Girls' Day is a nationwide campaign in which schoolgirls in the 5th grade and above spend a day

XALT News
Philip Kroos 2022-05-05
0

Frontend Developer - React (m/f/d)

We are TEAM XALT, a startup specializing in DevSecOps & business process digitalization from

Job
Mario Schaefer 2022-05-03
0

DevOps: How to get started

If you're new to DevOps, it can be overwhelming to know where to start

As a DevOps
Shopping cart
Knowledge management with Confluence

Webinar

Knowledge management with Confluence

Learn more about knowledge management, Confluence and how to make know-how available and usable in your company in a sustainable way.

B/S/H

BSH Hausgeräte GmbH is the largest manufacturer of household appliances in Europe and one of the world's leading companies in this sector.

Projects & Solutions

Atlassian Data Center vs. Cloud – Für wen eignet sich was

Atlassian Cloud vs Data Center

Beitrag teilen

Atlassian Cloud oder Data Center. Beide Bereitstellungsmethoden haben ihre Vor- und Nachteile. Wofür du dich entscheidest, hängt vor allem von deinen Anforderungen, der Anzahl der Nutzer, die du auf deinen Systemen brauchst, den Sicherheitsvorgaben deiner IT-Abteilung und der langfristigen Strategie deines Unternehmens ab.

Bevor wir näher darauf eingehen, welche Variante für dich in Frage kommt, wollen wir uns zunächst mit den verschiedenen Vor- und Nachteilen der einzelnen Systeme beschäftigen.

Atlassian Data Center

Das Atlassian Data Center ist eine selbst gehostete Methode, um deine Jira- oder Confluence-Systeme zu betreiben. Data Center haben die Eigenschaft, Serveranfragen über verschiedene Nodes zu leiten, die selbst gehostet werden. Fällt ein Node aus, sind die anderen in der Lage, die Last zu übernehmen und zu verarbeiten. Ein Serversystem mit verschiedenen Nodes lohnt sich, wenn eine Instanz 500 oder mehr Nutzer hat. Es gibt aber auch Fälle, in denen die Anzahl der User bei nur 250 liegt. Data Center können dir auf lange Sicht Geld sparen, vor allem wenn dein Unternehmen schnell wächst oder du expandieren willst.

Mit dem Atlassian Data Center kannst du die volle Kontrolle über deine IT-Infrastruktur übernehmen. Auf diese Weise kannst du:

  • die Ausfallzeiten auf ein selbst kontrolliertes Minimum reduzieren
  • die benötigte Infrastruktur auf deine Anforderungen skalieren (on demand)
  • Volle Kontrolle über Datenschutz und Datensicherheit
  • Kontrolle über die Updates für dein System
  • Unbegrenzte Anzahl von Nutzern

Data Center sind unabhängig von der Anzahl der Nutzer, die du für dein Unternehmen benötigst. Die Atlassian Cloud hingegen ist derzeit auf 20.000 Nutzer begrenzt. (Bei Atlassian werden derzeit bis zu 50.000 Nutzer getestet.)

Atlassian Cloud

Die Cloud ist da, und sie wird nicht wieder verschwinden. On-Premise-Lösungen sind keine Option mehr (zumindest für die meisten Unternehmen). Die Frage ist jedoch, ob du dem Trend folgen und ein Early Adopter sein willst oder ob du die Chance verpasst, zukunftssichere Technologien einzusetzen.

Die serverlose Infrastruktur (Cloud) bietet Organisationen auf der ganzen Welt viele Vorteile. Außerdem zahlt sich die ständige Arbeit von Atlassian an der Optimierung seines Produkts aus: Bedenken in Bezug auf Sicherheit und Compliance werden ernst genommen und es werden entsprechende Schritte unternommen, um die Lücken zu schließen. Werfen wir einen Blick darauf, warum du die Cloud-Option für dein Unternehmen in Betracht ziehen solltest, nachdem du jetzt weißt, wie sie in den Atlassian-Produkten funktioniert:

  • 100% Verfügbarkeit: Die Atlassian Cloud hat eine garantierte Verfügbarkeit von 99,95%.
  • Schnellere Konfiguration: Neue Instanzen lassen sich innerhalb weniger Minuten einrichten und konfigurieren.
  • Automatische Updates: Die Atlassian Cloud erhält Updates, sobald sie verfügbar sind. Keine manuellen Updates mehr *🎉*.
  • Gesteigerte Produktivität: Nutze moderne Tools, Ansätze und Funktionen zu deinem Vorteil und spare wertvolle Ressourcen (Zeit)
  • Reduzierte Verwaltungskosten: Die Zeit der physischen Hardware, der manuellen Wartung, der versunkenen Kosten und der Upgrades ist endlich vorbei. Durch den Wechsel in die Cloud sparst du eindeutig Geld, da die Infrastrukturkosten wegfallen.
  • Du zahlst für das, was du nutzt und wann du es nutzt -> Kosteneffizienz

Hier erfährst du mehr über das Hosting von Atlassian-Anwendungen auf Data Center oder in der Cloud.

Atlassian Cloud oder Data Center – Was ist wann zu wählen?

Data Center werden von Unternehmen gewählt, wenn ihre Atlassian-Anwendungen „geschäftskritisch“ geworden sind. Frag dich, wie hoch die Kosten eines Systemausfalls wären und wie wertvoll die Atlassian-Anwendungen für dein Unternehmen sind. Wenn dein gesamtes Entwicklungsteam aufgrund eines Systemausfalls nicht arbeiten könnte, wäre das besonders nachteilig für dein Unternehmen, da du für die geleistete Arbeit bezahlst.

Außerdem haben bestimmte Organisationen ein erhöhtes Bedürfnis nach Datenkontrolle und Datenschutz. Das Hosting deines eigenen Atlassian Data Centers auf deinen eigenen Servern bedeutet, dass du die volle Kontrolle über die Instandhaltung und Wartung der Server hast, aber auch die volle Kontrolle über die dir zur Verfügung stehenden Daten. Für Unternehmen mit hohen Sicherheitsanforderungen, wie Banken oder Krankenkassen, kann dies ein entscheidender Faktor sein.

Die Cloud ist eine langfristige Investition, die es Unternehmen ermöglicht, zu skalieren, die Produktivität der Mitarbeiter zu verbessern, die Geschwindigkeit zu erhöhen und die Innovation zu steigern.

Bei beiden Modellen – Cloud und Data Center – profitierst du von Zuverlässigkeit, erhöhter Produktivität und Kosteneinsparungen. Server-Nutzer, die ihre IT-Infrastruktur weiterhin selbst verwalten wollen, sollten einen Wechsel zum Data Center in Betracht ziehen.

Wie du sehen kannst, haben beide Modelle ihre Vorteile. Letztendlich hängt es von deinen Anforderungen ab, ob du dich für die Cloud oder Data Center entscheidest.

Brauchst du Hilfe bei der Bewertung der verschiedenen Möglichkeiten? Unser Atlassian-Experte hilft dir, die richtige Lösung für deine Anforderungen und Bedürfnisse zu finden.

Nimm noch heute Kontakt mit uns auf.

Das könnte dich auch interessieren

Mario Schaefer 2022-05-12
0

Der erste Girls’Day bei XALT 2022

Der Girls'Day ist eine bundesweite Aktion, bei der Schülerinnen ab der 5. Klasse einen Tag

XALT News
Philip Kroos 2022-05-05
0

Frontend Developer – React (m/w/d)

Wir sind TEAM XALT, ein Startup mit Spezialisierung auf DevSecOps & Digitalisierung von Geschäftsprozessen aus

Job
Mario Schaefer 2022-05-03
0

DevOps: How to get started – Wie der Einstieg gelingt

Wenn du neu bei DevOps bist, kann es überwältigend sein, zu wissen, wo du anfangen

DevOps
Einkaufskorb
Wissensmanagement mit Confluence

Webinar

Wissensmanagement mit Confluence

Erfahre mehr über Wissensmanagement, Confluence und wie du Knowhow in deinen Unternehmen nachhaltig bereitstellst und nutzbar machst.

B/S/H

Die BSH Hausgeräte GmbH ist der größte Hersteller von Haushaltsgeräten in Europa und eines der weltweit führenden Unternehmen in dieser Branche.

Projekte & Lösungen