Atlassian / Linchpin Use Case

New redesign of User-Centered Intranet based on Linchpin

Hard facts of the project

Products used

Atlassian Confluence, Atlassian Crowd, SSO with Company internal User Directory Linchpin Intranet Suite, Advanced Image Gallery, Include+, k15t Translations, NewRelic, Elastic Stack, Amazon Web Services, Docker, Kubernetes, Kibana

Solution and Methology

Development of an intranet based on Confluence with Linchpin. Joint evaluation of apps, user authorization management, corporate branding, introduction and workshops for editorial use.

About our partners

About BSH Household Appliances

"The BSH Household Appliances GmbH is the largest manufacturer of household appliances in Europe and one of the world's leading companies in this industry. Around 40 manufacturing sites and a strong network of some 80 sales, production and service companies in around 50 countries form the foundation of BSH's customer-focused business model.

Being the first choice for consumers worldwide drives the company and its employees. With its exceptional brands, high-quality products and superior solutions, BSH aims to improve the quality of people's lives."

Background of the project

The goal of the project was to replace the top-down intranet communicationin order to give every user, not just the editorial team, the possibility to participate in a transparent and thematic intranet. In addition, a platform based on Atlassian Confluence with the support of Linchpin software was created, which was adapted to the specifications of BSH. Linchpin expands the basic functions of Confluence for the most important requirements of a holistic intranet. BSH's concept was based on the standard software with the expertise of the external partners, XALT and init.

The software from Atlassian - primarily Jira and Confluence - were already in use at BSH in various areas, including as a corporate Wiki. Until the go-live of the new intranet, the company-owned intranet was built on Microsoft Sharepoint. The main problems in using the old system were:

About the Project 

After the decision to build a new Intranet, a time-frame of around a year was established, to create a new, better platform and migrate the content to the new environment.

In consultation with BSH, a Cross Functional Team was founded for technical and conceptual implementation of the project in the specified time frames.

One the one hand, the team consisted of initwhose team members have given support to the conceptual themes and to corporate communication. On the other hand, the global development team of BSH was supported by long-time Linchpin partner XALT in the areas of Atlassian and DevOps.

At the forefront of the project, BSH had formulated USPs (Unique-Selling-Points) , which represent certain expected management characteristics of the new intranet in order to set it apart from other projects and from the competition as a unique selling point. These unique selling propositions included:

"

Our recipe for a successful implementation was: to be quick and to have a cross-functional team that has all the necessary skills to achieve something big. For this reason, we have created a team with motivated business stakeholders, IT staff and external partners, such as XALT in terms of technical implementation and init in terms of conception, which can deliver on a daily basis using Agile and DevOps methods.

– Peter Giglinger, BSH Household Appliances GmbH

Practical implementation

Of course, DevOps best practices are used in an intranet project. Great importance is attached to the fact that the project team always participates directly by making simple adjustments to the source code, such as Texts in the interface.

Through quality control with pull requests, it is assured that everything is working correctly. In this way, it's possible without weeks-long discussions to get features ready and to maintain a tight timeline.

The individual steps in the practical implementation of the project can be considered in the following video :

Added value and result

The intranet is now actively used by more than 60,000 BSH employees, is available in 25 languages and is used in around 51 countries. XALT provided a tailor-made solution especially for the BSH intranet project. This includes the creation of a custom theme for the intranet and the development of several Atlassian apps according to BSH's wishes.

The app by the name of "Advanced Image Gallery" (Complimentary test license) supports the team to organize, select and edit galleries of various pictures inside an intranet page. The plugin makes it very easy to change desired settings for images, such as display type, width and height, caption and copyright. For Confluence users, the plugin is also available on the Atlassian Marketplace as a macro for Confluence.

Further additional positive effects of the redesign and replacement of the intranet can be summarized as follows:

Further information on the project is also available to read in the Use Case of init : BSH Household Appliances Digital Workplace

More information

Want to learn more about the Linchpin-Intranet Use Case? Contact us for a complimentary consultation.

Better call XALT

We help your team achieve greatness in every aspect

Would you like more information about the Success Story or would you like to learn more about our solution? We can help you get the most out of your business. Feel free to contact us by phone, email or visit us in our office.

Address

Munich

Tomannweg 3
81673 Munich

Leipzig

August-Bebel-Str. 41
04275 Leipzig

Atlassian / Linchpin Use Case

User-Centered Intranet Neugestaltung auf Basis von Linchpin

hard facts zum projekt

Verwendete Produkte

Atlassian Confluence, Atlassian Crowd, SSO mit Company internal User Directory, Linchpin Intranet Suite, Advanced Image Gallery, Include+, k15t Translations, NewRelic, Elastic Stack, Amazon Web Services, Docker, Kubernetes, Kibana

Lösung und Methodologie

Agile Sprints mit einem Cross-Functional-Team, DevOps, Cloud Native, Liberated Content Management (Jede/r kann Nachrichten verfassen)

Über BSH Hausgeräte

„Die BSH Hausgeräte GmbH ist der größte Hersteller von Haushaltsgeräten in Europa und eines der weltweit führenden Unternehmen in dieser Branche.

Für Verbraucher weltweit die erste Wahl zu sein, treibt das Unternehmen und seine Mitarbeiter an. Mit ihren außergewöhnlichen Marken, hochwertigen Produkten und überlegenen Lösungen will die BSH die Lebensqualität der Menschen verbessern. „

Hintergrund des Projektes

Ziel des Projektes war, die bestehende Top-Down Intranet Kommunikation abzulösen, um nicht nur dem Redaktionsteam sondern jedem Nutzer die Möglichkeit zu geben, selbst an einem transparenten und themenzentrierten Intranet mitzuarbeiten. Dazu wurde eine Plattform auf Basis von Atlassian Confluence mit Unterstützung der Software Linchpin geschaffen, welche an die Vorgaben der BSH angepasst wurde. Linchpin ergänzt die Basisfunktionen von Confluence um die wichtigsten Anforderungen eines ganzheitlichen Intranets. Dabei wurde das BSH Konzept auf der Basis der Standardsoftware mit der Fachexpertise der externen Partner, XALT und init, ermöglicht.

Die Software von Atlassian – vorrangig Jira und Confluence – waren intern bei BSH schon länger und in verschiedenen Bereichen im Einsatz, u.a. als Corporate-Wiki. Bis zur Realisierung des neuen Intranets war das firmeneigene Intranet auf Microsoft Sharepoint aufgebaut. Die Hauptprobleme in der Nutzung des alten Systems bestanden darin:

Zum Projekt 

Nach der Entscheidung, ein neues Intranet aufzubauen, wurde ein Frist von rund einem Jahr festgelegt, um eine neue, bessere Plattform zu schaffen und die Inhalte in die neue Umgebung zu migrieren.

In Absprache mit BSH wurde ein Cross Functional Team zur technischen und konzeptionellen Umsetzung des Projektes im angegebenen Zeitrahmen gegründet.

Das Team bestand Einerseits aus init, wessen Teammitglieder Unterstützung zu konzeptionellen Themen sowie zu Corporate Communication geleistet haben. Andererseits wurde das globale Development-Team der BSH durch den langjährigen Linchpin-Partner XALT in den Themenbereichen rund um Atlassian und DevOps unterstützt.

Die BSH hatte im Vorfeld des Projektes USPs (Unique-Selling-Points) formuliert, welche bestimmte, erwartete Leitungsmerkmale des neuen Intranets darstellen, um dieses als Alleinstellungsmerkmal von anderen Projekten und vom Wettbewerb abzuheben. Zu diesen Alleinstellungsmerkmalen zählten:

"

Unser Rezept für eine erfolgreiche Umsetzung lautete: schnell zu sein und ein Cross-Functional-Team zu haben, das alle nötigen Skills besitzt um etwas großes zu leisten. Aus diesem Grund haben wir ein Team mit motivierten Business Stakeholdern, IT-Mitarbeitern sowie externen Partnern, wie XALT in Sachen technische Umsetzung und init in Sachen Konzeption, geschaffen, das durch Agile und DevOps Methoden täglich liefern kann.

– Peter Giglinger, BSH Hausgeräte GmbH

Praktische Umsetzung

In einem Intranet Projekt werden selbstverständlich DevOps Best Practices zum Einsatz gebracht. Dabei wird größter Wert darauf gelegt, dass das Projekt-Team immer wieder durch einfache Anpassungen am Source Code, wie z.B. Texte im Interface, direkt mitwirkt.

Durch Qualitätskontrolle mit Pull Requests wird sichergestellt, das alles korrekt funktioniert. Auf diese Weise ist es möglich, ohne Wochenlage Abstimmungen Features fertig zu stellen und den knappen Zeitplan einzuhalten.

Die einzelnen Schritte in der praktischen Umsetzung des Projektes kann in folgendem Video detaillierter betrachtet werden:

Mehrwert und Ergebnis

Das Intranet wird von inzwischen mehr als 60.000 MitarbeiterInnen der BSH aktiv genutzt, und ist dabei in 25 Sprachen verfügbar und wird in rund 51 Ländern genutzt. Speziell für das Intranet Projekt der BSH hat XALT eine maßgeschneiderte Lösung geliefert. Zu dieser zählt die Erstellung eines Custom Theme für das Intranet sowie die Entwicklung mehrerer Atlassian Apps nach den Wünschen von BSH.

Die App mit dem Namen „Advanced Image Gallery“ (Kostenlose Testlizenz) unterstützt das Team beim Organisieren, Auswählen und Bearbeiten von Galerien verschiedener Bilder innerhalb einer Intranet-Seite. Mit dem Plugin wird es möglich, einfach gewünschte Einstellungen für Bilder, wie Anzeigetyp, Breite und Höhe, Beschriftung und Copyright, vorzunehmen. Für Confluence Nutzer steht das Plugin zudem auf dem Atlassian Marketplace als Makro für Confluence zur Verfügung.

Weitere zusätzliche, positive Effekten der Umgestaltung und Ablösung des Intranets lassen sich wie folgt zusammenfassen:

Weitere Informationen zum Projekt gibt es zusätzlich im Use Case von init nachzulesen: BSH Hausgeräte Digital Workplace

Mehr informationen

Möchten Sie mehr über den Linchpin-Intranet Use Case erfahren? Kontaktieren Sie uns gerne für eine kostenlose Beratung.

Weitere Use Cases / Customer Stories