Atlassian / Linchpin Success Story

New redesign of User-Centered Intranet based on Linchpin

Hard facts of the project

Products used

Autoscaling Atlassian Confluence Data Center, Atlassian Crowd, Custom Developed SSO, Linchpin Intranet Suite, Advanced Image Gallery, Include+, k15t Translations, NewRelic, Elastic Stack, Kibana, Amazon Web Services, Docker, Kubernetes.

Solution and Methology

Development of an intranet based on Confluence and Linchpin. Individually developed Confluence Apps and Macros, integration into the company's own Identity Access Management System (IAM), corporate branding, technical project coordination and operational design.

About our partners

About BSH Household Appliances

The BSH Household Appliances GmbH is the largest manufacturer of household appliances in Europe and one of the world's leading companies in this industry. Around 40 manufacturing sites and a strong network of some 80 sales, production and service companies in around 50 countries form the foundation of BSH's customer-focused business model.

Being the first choice for consumers worldwide drives the company and its employees. With its exceptional brands, high-quality products and superior solutions, BSH aims to improve people's quality of life.

Our recipe for a successful implementation was: to be quick and to have a cross-functional team that has all the necessary skills to achieve something big. For this reason, we have created a team with motivated business stakeholders, IT staff and external partners, such as XALT in terms of technical implementation and init in terms of conception, which can deliver on a daily basis using Agile and DevOps methods.
B/S/H/
Peter Giglinger
IT Business Consultant, BSH Hausgeräte GmbH

Background of the project

In today's high-tech culture, information is spread across many places and most employees have little insight into what their colleagues are working on. This makes communication difficult and leads to limited collaboration. Linchpin and Confluence provide a collaboration tool that allows departments, teams and employees to easily share information and stay informed via an intranet.

Replacement of the existing intranet (SharePoint)

The goal of the project was to replace the top-down intranet communicationto give not only the editorial team, but also every user the opportunity to contribute to a transparent and topic-centered intranet. For this purpose, a platform based on Atlassian Confluence was developed with the support of the software Linchpin which was adapted to the requirements of the BSH. Linchpin expands the basic functions of Confluence around the most important functions of a modern, social intranet. Until the new intranet was implemented, the company's own intranet was based on Microsoft Sharepoint.

The main problems in the old system were as follows:

USPs of the new intranet

At the forefront of the project, BSH had formulated USPs (Unique-Selling-Points) , which represent certain expected management characteristics of the new intranet in order to set it apart from other projects and from the competition as a unique selling point. These unique selling propositions included:

Personalized User Experience

The new intranet offers every user the possibility to configure and personalize the displayed content and profile according to his or her wishes (e.g. description of the field of activity, addition of profile pictures and deposit of contact data).

In addition, technical solutions have been implemented that make it possible to provide each user with content tailored to their department, team or location.

Social cooperation and commitment

With the newly added social media features, users can comment, like and share news and posts as usual. All post interactions are also 100% transparent. In this way, B/S/H/ creates an open communication culture and enables direct feedback.

News from the management and specialist departments are weighted equally in the news stream. In this way, all users meet on the platform at eye level. 

Collaboration and employee contributions

In addition to internal company, management or location news, employees can also publish new contributions independently on the new intranet and thus work together on new ideas or topics. This promotes a constant exchange of knowledge.

BSH Intranet with Confluence and Linchpin

Breaking open silos

Many topics are dealt with by several departments at the same time, and communication barriers are avoided via the open intranet platform. The new intranet empowers teams to work together on strategic topics and thus drive projects and communication within the company more efficiently. 

The role of DevOps in the intranet project

In the intranet projectt of the B/S/H/ are DevOps Best Practices were used. The integration of Continuous Integration & Deployment made it possible to release new features and updates to the code in a consistent cycle (daily/weekly).

Through quality control with Pull Requests and Feature Branch Test Systems ensures that all customizations work correctly. This way, it is possible to release features without a week's worth of tuning and to keep to the tight schedule.

The individual steps in the practical implementation of the project can be considered in the following video be considered in more detail.

Further information on the project is also available in the success story by init : BSH Household Appliances Digital Workplace

Further added value of the new intranet

The intranet is used in a company with more than 60,000 employees:inside actively used, and is thereby in 25 languages and 51 countries available. XALT provided a tailor-made solution especially for the BSH intranet project. This includes the creation of a custom theme for the intranet and the development of several Atlassian apps according to BSH's wishes.

More information

Want to learn more about the Linchpin intranet success story? Feel free to contact us for a free consultation.

Better call XALT

We help your team achieve greatness in every aspect

Would you like more information about the Success Story or would you like to learn more about our solution? We can help you get the most out of your business. Feel free to contact us by phone, email or visit us in our office.

Address

Munich

Tomannweg 3
81673 Munich

Leipzig

August-Bebel-Str. 41
04275 Leipzig

Atlassian / Linchpin Success Story

User-Centered Intranet Neugestaltung auf Basis von Linchpin

hard facts zum projekt

Verwendete Produkte

Autoscaling Atlassian Confluence Data Center, Atlassian Crowd, Custom Developed SSO, Linchpin Intranet Suite, Advanced Image Gallery, Include+, k15t Translations, NewRelic, Elastic Stack, Kibana, Amazon Web Services, Docker, Kubernetes.

Lösung und Methodologie

Aufbau eines Intranets auf Basis von Confluence und Linchpin. Individuell entwickelte Confluence Apps und Macros, Integration in das Firmeneigene Identity Access Management System (IAM), Corporate Branding, technische Projektkoordination und Betriebskonzeption.

Zu unseren Partnern

Über BSH Hausgeräte

Die BSH Hausgeräte GmbH ist der größte Hersteller von Haushaltsgeräten in Europa und eines der weltweit führenden Unternehmen in dieser Branche. Rund 40 Fertigungsstandorte und ein starkes Netzwerk aus etwa 80 Vertriebs-, Produktions- und Service-Unternehmen in ca. 50 Ländern bilden das Fundament für das kunden-orientierte Geschäftsmodell der BSH.

Für Verbraucher weltweit die erste Wahl zu sein, treibt das Unternehmen und seine Mitarbeiter an. Mit ihren außergewöhnlichen Marken, hochwertigen Produkten und überlegenen Lösungen will die BSH die Lebens-qualität der Menschen verbessern.

Unser Rezept für eine erfolgreiche Umsetzung lautete: schnell zu sein und ein Cross-Functional-Team zu haben, das alle nötigen Skills besitzt um etwas großes zu leisten. Aus diesem Grund haben wir ein Team mit motivierten Business Stakeholdern, IT-Mitarbeitern sowie externen Partnern, wie XALT in Sachen technische Umsetzung und init in Sachen Konzeption, geschaffen, das durch Agile und DevOps Methoden täglich liefern kann.
B/S/H/
Peter Giglinger
IT Business Consultant, BSH Hausgeräte GmbH

Hintergrund des Projekts

In der heutigen High-Tech-Kultur werden Informationen über viele Stellen verteilt und die meisten Mitarbeiter haben wenig Einblick in das, woran ihre Kollegen gerade arbeiten. Das erschwert die Kommunikation und führt zu einer eingeschränkten Zusammenarbeit. Mit Linchpin und Confluence steht eine technische Lösung zur Verfügung, mit dem Abteilungen, Teams und Mitarbeiter:innen auf einfache Weise Informationen über ein Intranet austauschen und auf dem Laufenden bleiben können.

Ablösung des bestehenden Intranets (SharePoint)

Ziel des Projektes war, die bestehende Top-Down Intranet Kommunikation zu erweitern, um nicht nur dem Redaktionsteam, sondern jedem Nutzer die Möglichkeit zu geben, selbst an einem transparenten und themenzentrierten Intranet mitzuarbeiten. Dazu wurde eine Plattform auf Basis von Atlassian Confluence mit Unterstützung der Software Linchpin geschaffen, welche an die Anforderungen der BSH angepasst wurde. Linchpin ergänzt die Basisfunktionen von Confluence um die wichtigsten Funktionen eines modernen, sozialen Intranets. Bis zur Realisierung des neuen Intranets war das firmeneigene Intranet auf Microsoft Sharepoint aufgebaut.

Dabei gab es folgende Hauptprobleme im alten System:

USPs des neuen Intranets

Die BSH hatte im Vorfeld des Projektes USPs (Unique-Selling-Points) formuliert, welche bestimmte, erwartete Leitungsmerkmale des neuen Intranets darstellen, um dieses als Alleinstellungsmerkmal von anderen Projekten und vom Wettbewerb abzuheben. Zu diesen Alleinstellungsmerkmalen zählten:

Personalisierte User Experience

Das neue Intranet bietet jedem User an, angezeigte Inhalte und Profil ganz nach seinen Wünschen zu konfigurieren und zu personalisieren (z.B: Beschreibung des Aufgabengebiets, hinzufügen von Profilbildern und Hinterlegung von Kontaktdaten).

Zudem wurden technische Lösungen implementiert, die es ermöglichen, jedem User je nach Abteilungs-, Team- oder Standortzugehörigkeit zugeschnittene Inhalte zu vermitteln.

Soziale Interkation und Engagement

Durch die neu hinzugefügten Social Media Funktionen, können User News und Posts wie gewohnt kommentieren, liken und teilen. Alle Beitragsinteraktionen sind zudem 100% transparent. Damit schafft die B/S/H/ eine offene Kommunikationskultur und ermöglicht direktes Feedback.

News aus der Geschäftsführung und Fachabteilungen werden im News-Stream gleich gewichtet. Damit begegnen sich alle Nutzer:innen auf der Plattform auf Augenhöhe. 

Kollaboration und Mitarbeiterbeträge

In dem neuen Intranet können neben internen Unternehmens-, Management- oder Standortnachrichten, auch Mitarbeiter:innen eigenständig neue Beiträge veröffentlichen und dadurch gemeinschaftlich an neuen Ideen oder Themen arbeiten. Damit wird ein stetiger Wissensaustausch gefördert.

BSH Intranet mit Confluence und Linchpin

Aufbrechen von Silos

Viele Themen werden von mehreren Abteilungen gleichzeitig bearbeitet, und über die offene Intranet-Plattform werden Kommunikationshürden vermieden. Das neue Intranet befähigt Teams, gemeinsam an strategischen Themen zusammenzuarbeiten und damit Projekte und die Kommunikation im Unternehmen effizienter voranzutreiben. 

Die Rolle von DevOps im Intranet Projekt

In dem Intranet Projekt der B/S/H/ sind DevOps Best Practices zum Einsatz gekommen. Durch die Integration von Continuous Integration & Deployment wurde es ermöglicht, dass Neuerungen und Updates am Code in einem gleichbleibenden Zyklus (Täglich / wöchentlich) veröffentlicht werden konnten.

Durch Qualitätskontrolle mit Pull Requests und Feature Branch Test Systemen wird sichergestellt, das alle Anpassungen korrekt funktionieren. Auf diese Weise ist es möglich, ohne Wochenlage Abstimmungen Features zu veröffentlichen und den knappen Zeitplan einzuhalten.

Die einzelnen Schritte in der praktischen Umsetzung des Projektes kann in folgendem Video detaillierter betrachtet werden.

Weitere Informationen zum Projekt gibt es zusätzlich in der Success Story von init nachzulesen: BSH Hausgeräte Digital Workplace

Weitere Mehrwerte des neuen Intranets

Das Intranet wird in einem Unternehmen mit mehr als 60.000 Mitarbeiter:innen aktiv genutzt, und ist dabei in 25 Sprachen und 51 Ländern verfügbar. Speziell für das Intranet Projekt der BSH hat XALT eine maßgeschneiderte Lösung geliefert. Zu dieser zählt die Erstellung eines Custom Theme für das Intranet sowie die Entwicklung mehrerer Atlassian Apps nach den Wünschen von BSH.

Mehr informationen

Möchten Sie mehr über die Linchpin-Intranet Success Story erfahren? Kontaktieren Sie uns gerne für eine kostenlose Beratung.

Better call XALT

We help your team achieve greatness in every aspect

Sie möchten mehr Informationen zur Success Story oder möchten mehr über unsere Lösung erfahren? Wir unterstützen Sie dabei, das Beste aus Ihrem Unternehmen herauszuholen. Kontaktieren Sie uns gerne per Telefon, E-Mail oder besuchen Sie uns in unserem Büro.

Adresse

München

Tomannweg 3
81673 München

Leipzig

August-Bebel-Str. 41
04275 Leipzig