Cloud / AWS Use case

Cloud-to-Cloud Webshop Migration with Cloud Native Redesign

Hard facts of the project

Products used

AWS, plus Route53, CloudFormation, NLB (Network Log Balancer), Puppet, Ansible, Gitlab, Graphana / Prometheus

Solution and Methology

Agile Sprint planning, GitFlow, Infrastructure as Code as well as Configuration as Code, Containerization, Introduction and Workshops on DevSecOps

About Weltbild

"At Weltbild we are a Publishing and bookstore company with headquarters in Augsburg as well as a large multi-channel bookseller. Weltbild serves customers through online shops, direct marketing and its own branches. To minimize costs, and to increase flexibility, Weltbild migrated it's Webshop to AWS.

Core problem and Opportunities for Improvement

Most companies are taking their first steps towards the cloud for a variety of reasons: To save costs by having your own operating department in the IT infrastructure, to react faster and more flexibly to future changes and to make it easier to perform generation updates of hardware. In addition, long-term capacity planning for infrastructure is not necessary in the cloud. For these reasons, Weltbild decided to move to the AWS Cloud.

The first implementation took place with the webshop of Weltbild.de. A move to the cloud generally offers the possibility of lower maintenance costs and greater flexibility. However, it must be taken into account that the hoped-for change after an infrastructure move with the "lift and shift" mentality cannot be achieved automatically. The reality if is often quite the opposite: the realization of these desired results requires effort and prior knowledge in the area of infrastructure redesign as well as the available cloud services.

Based on this knowledge, Weltbild initiated a new project. The main tasks consisted of (1) a renewed relocation of the infrastructurethis time, however, in (2) combination with a Cloud-Redesign and a (3) flexible workflow. The biggest challenge in the implementation was the very strict deadline. If the deadline had been missed, it would have meant that Weltbild would have been bound to the legacy-cloud and would ultimately have had to pay for infrastructure that they would not use.

This is exactly the point where our XALT DevOps team was assigned. The goal was to accelerate the planned project and bring in additional expertise related to AWS-specific Technologies as well as Infrastructure and Configuration as Code. This allowed us to ensure that the full infrastructure migration was completed on time, considering the new project goals.

Finding solutions and introducing new methods

The first challenge was to define all necessary steps of the migration and to layout a roadmap. This had two purposes in the project: On the one hand, the project management team receives a project overview and an illustration of identified risks that could influence the deadline. On the other hand, the project team receives defined goals that enable the project to be carried out in the given period. With this foundation, the Weltbild team could be offered the necessary support to manage the cloud migration with agile methods. Our DevOps team advised Weltbild on the path to implementation and introduced new techniques and a DevSecOps mentality to the team. These included:

Stepwise implementation and other uses

In the next step, the Cloud-to-Cloud migration of the Webshop was implemented. The services were divided into single microservices, described as infrastructure as code and finally incrementally migrated. Several of the available services were replaced completely by AWS services. That way, not only infrastructure costs could be saved, but also the administrative effort could be reduced. 

"

An incremental migration made it possible to redesign individual services and finally migrate these capabilities to the new infrastructure platform. From then on, these were integrated into the entire application. 

During the implementation of the project, our team committed itself to providing comprehensive advice to the customer and served Weltbild as a co-pilot. This means that our team has carried out training courses and workshops on the newly introduced techniques and technologies. In addition, it became clear that the agile methods introduced contributed to carrying out the project in the required time period. Weltbild now has a new, agile base of techniques and tools on which to build follow-up projects.

Further additional, positive side effects of the Cloud redesign during the migration are:

More information

Want to learn more about the Cloud-to-Cloud Migration Use Case? Please contact us for a complimentary consultation.

Better call XALT

We help your team achieve greatness in every aspect

Would you like more information about the Success Story or would you like to learn more about our solution? We can help you get the most out of your business. Feel free to contact us by phone, email or visit us in our office.

Address

Munich

Tomannweg 3
81673 Munich

Leipzig

August-Bebel-Str. 41
04275 Leipzig

Cloud / AWS Use case

Cloud-to-Cloud Webshop Migration mit Cloud Native Redesign

hard facts zum projekt

Verwendete Produkte

AWS, u.a. Route53, CloudFormation, NLB (Network Log Balancer), Puppet, Ansible, Gitlab, Graphana / Prometheus

Lösung und Methodologie

Agile Sprint Planning, GitFlow, Infrastructure as Code sowie Configuration as Code, Containerisation, Einf√ľhrung und Workshops zu DevSecOps

√úber Weltbild

„Bei Weltbild handelt es sich um ein deutsches Verlags- und Buchhandels¬≠unternehmen mit Sitz in Augsburg sowie um einen gro√üen Multikanal-Buchh√§ndler. Weltbild bedient Kunden √ľber Online-Shops, Direktmarketing und eigene Filialen. Um Kosten zu verringern und Flexibilit√§t zu erh√∂hen hat eine Migration des Weltbild Webshops via AWS stattgefunden.“

Kernprobleme und Verbesserungschancen

Die meisten Unternehmen wagen ihre ersten Schritte in Richtung Cloud aus mehreren Gr√ľnden:¬†Um Kosten durch eine eigene Betriebsabteilung in der IT-Infrastruktur zu sparen, um schneller und flexibler auf zuk√ľnftige Ver√§nderungen reagieren zu k√∂nnen sowie um Generationsupdates von Hardware leichter durchzuf√ľhren. Zus√§tzlich sind in der Cloud keine langfristigen Kapazit√§tsplanungen f√ľr Infrastruktur notwendig.¬†Weltbild entschied sich aus diesen eben genannten Gr√ľnden, in die AWS Cloud zu wechseln.

Die erste Umsetzung fand dabei mit dem Weltbild.de Webshop statt. Ein Umstieg in die Cloud bietet generell die M√∂glichkeit, geringere Erhaltungskosten sowie eine h√∂here Flexibilit√§t zu erreichen. Jedoch muss an dieser Stelle ber√ľcksichtigt werden, dass die erhofften Ver√§nderung nach einem Umzug der Infrastruktur mit der „Lift and Shift“-Mentalit√§t, nicht automatisch erreicht werden k√∂nnen. Ganz das Gegenteil ist oft Realit√§t: die Umsetzung dieser gew√ľnschten Ergebnisse erfordert Aufw√§nde und Vorkenntnisse im Bereich von Infrastructure-Redesign sowie der verf√ľgbaren Cloud-Services.

Auf Basis der erw√§hnten Erkenntnisse hat Weltbild ein neues Projekt ins Leben gerufen. Die Hauptaufgaben dieses Projektes bestanden aus (1) einem erneuten Umzug der Infrastruktur, diesmal jedoch in (2) Kombination mit einem Cloud-Redesign und einem (3) flexibleren Workflow. Die gr√∂√üte Herausforderung in der Umsetzung bestand aus einer sehr strikten Deadline. Sollte die Deadline √ľberschritten werden, h√§tte dies bedeutet, dass Weltbild zwei weitere Jahre an die Legacy Cloud gebunden w√§re und letztendlich f√ľr Infrastruktur h√§tte zahlen m√ľssen, die sie nicht nutzen w√ľrden.

Exakt an dieser Stelle wurde unser XALT DevOps-Team beauftragt. Das Ziel bestand darin, das geplante Projekt zu beschleunigen und zusätzliches Know-How in Bezug auf AWS Spezifische Technologien sowie Infrastructure- und Configuration as Code einzubringen. Dadurch konnten wir sicher stellen, dass die vollständige Infrastrukturmigration unter Betrachtung der neuen Projektziele rechtzeitig abgeschlossen wurde.

L√∂sungsfindung und Einf√ľhrung neuer Methoden

Die erste Herausforderung bestand darin, alle n√∂tigen Schritte der Migration zu definieren und in eine Roadmap zu √ľberf√ľhren. Diese hat im Rahmen des Projektes zwei Nutzen:¬†Zum einen wird dem Projektmanagement ein Projekt√ľberblick und eine Veranschaulichung identifizierter Risiken, welche Einfluss auf die Deadline haben k√∂nnte, geliefert. Zum anderen erh√§lt das Projektteam definierte Ziele, welche die Erf√ľllung des Projektes im gegebenen Zeitraum erm√∂glichen. Mit dieser Grundlage konnte dem Weltbild-Team die notwendige Unterst√ľtzung geboten werden, um die Cloud-Migration mit agilen Methoden zu bewerkstelligen. Unser DevOps-Team hat Weltbild hierf√ľr auf dem Weg zur Umsetzung beratend begleitet und neue Methoden sowie Arbeitsweisen, welche auf der DevSecOps-Mentalit√§t beruhen, im Team eingef√ľhrt. Dazu z√§hlten unter anderem:

Schritthafte Implementation und zusätzlicher Nutzen

Im n√§chsten Schritt wurde die Cloud-to-Cloud Migration des Webshops durchgef√ľhrt. Die Services wurden in einzelne Microservices aufgeteilt, als Infrastructure as Code beschrieben und anschlie√üend inkrementell migriert.¬†Einige der vorhandenen Services wurden vollst√§ndig durch AWS Services ersetzt. Somit konnten nicht nur Infrastrukturkosten gespart, sondern auch der administrative Aufwand reduziert werden.¬†

"

Eine inkrementelle Migration ermöglicht es, Services individuell zu redesignen und anschließend funktionsfähig auf die neue Infrastrukturplattform zu migrieren. Daraufhin werden diese in die Gesamtapplikation eingebunden. 

W√§hrend der Umsetzung des Projektes¬†hat sich unser Team zu einer umfassenden Beratung des Kunden verpflichtet und Weltbild als Co-Pilot gedient. Dies bedeutet, dass unser Team¬†Schulungen und Workshops zu den neu eingef√ľhrten Arbeitsmethoden und Technologien durchgef√ľhrt hat.¬†Zudem ist deutlich geworden, dass die eingef√ľhrten agile Methoden dazu beigetragen haben, das Projekt in dem geforderten Zeitraum durchzuf√ľhren. Weltbild besitzt nun eine neue, agile Basis aus Methoden und Tools, auf welcher Folgeprojekte aufgebaut werden k√∂nnen.

Weitere zusätzliche, positive Nebeneffekten des Cloud-Redesigns während der Migration sind:

Mehr informationen

M√∂chten Sie mehr √ľber den Cloud-to-Cloud Migration Use Case erfahren? Kontaktieren Sie uns gerne f√ľr eine kostenlose Beratung.

Better call XALT

We help your team achieve greatness in every aspect

Sie m√∂chten mehr Informationen zur Success Story oder m√∂chten mehr √ľber unsere L√∂sung erfahren? Wir unterst√ľtzen Sie dabei, das Beste aus Ihrem Unternehmen herauszuholen. Kontaktieren Sie uns gerne per Telefon, E-Mail oder besuchen Sie uns in unserem B√ľro.

Adresse

M√ľnchen

Tomannweg 3
81673 M√ľnchen

Leipzig

August-Bebel-Str. 41
04275 Leipzig