Atlassian / Confluence

Business Intelligence System with Confluence

Hard facts of the project

Solution and Methology

Use of Confluence as a documentation and communication tool, development of an authorization management system and integration of business intelligence functions in Confluence. Together with Fath24 first of all, all relevant requirements were coordinated in a workshop and adapted to the special features of Confluence and Pocketquery as a BI tool.

Products used

Atlassian Confluence for Data Center, Refined for Confluence, Pocketquerry, EasyMind, LanguageManager, Translations for Confluence, Advanced Image Gallery, EasyMind, Space Privacy - Extranet for Confluence, Table Filter and Charts for Confluence.

About Fath24

Fath24 is a medium-sized group of companies from Spalt in Franconia and has around 350 employees worldwide and its own production, logistics and sales locations in Germany, the USA, China, Hungary, the UK, Mexico, Brazil and the Netherlands. Fath24 specializes in the development, manufacture and distribution of system components.

This includes components from the fields of mechanical engineering, industrial enclosure construction, production equipment construction as well as visualization and the material flow of intralogistics.

Use of Confluence as a business intelligence tool

Background to the project

The management of Fath24 was faced with the decision to integrate a new and fully integrated Business Intelligence System (BI). Often the introduction is a time-consuming and most of these BI tools are often only for very large companies 100%ig to use or the cost of such systems extremely high and not always justifiable in the middle class.

Fath24's goal was therefore to achieve a balance between cost and benefit, and to ensure that a new BI system could be tailored precisely to Fath24's needs. In addition, it had to be ensured that this central tool could also be used by all authorized employees without first having to complete lengthy training courses or being a specialist in the field. Furthermore, all evaluations of the current system should also be possible with the new tool. 

The software from Atlassian and LivelyApps - primarily Confluence and Pocketquery - were the logical choice based on these requirements. Pocketquery, in conjunction with Google Sheets, is great for graphically/visually mapping large data sets within Confluence and can be highly customized depending on the purpose. 

Key Requirements:

Challenges and solution

The old / existing Business Intelligence System (BI) should be retained in its original form, but mapped in Confluence. Furthermore, it should be ensured that all existing functions are transferred to the new system and are easy to use for all authorized users. 

The approach

In most production and industrial companies, countless products are manufactured and sold every day, generating a large amount of data that is in turn imported into various systems. Systems such as an ERP system or even the internal CRM system often require independent management and manual export of data in order to subsequently process them with another tool (BI). 

Provision of the data in Confluence

In order to first create the possibility of using Confluence as a BI tool, all relevant databases first had to be integrated and embedded in Confluence together with Pocketquery. The data is then visually displayed on individual Confluence pages using the Google Sheets plugin and made accessible to employees.

Integration of the CRM system

In order to obtain a holistic mapping of all data, an interface to the CRM system was also created. This allows the respective accounts (customers), products or product groups to be linked to the specific data records. From this consideration, it is additionally possible to directly receive holistic reportings on the individual categories. 

User & authorization management

Due to the existing international orientation of Fath, it is necessary that a Authorization Management from unauthorized access to certain company data exists. Our solution is a comprehensive user management system, which only shows all data to those employees who also have the authorization for the respective data set. This ultimately eliminates the user management from the old BI system and is controlled directly in Confluence.

You can find more about permission management for Jira and Confluence in here.

Results at Fath24

More information

Want to learn more about Confluence and how to use it as a business intelligence tool?

Better call XALT

We help your team achieve greatness in every aspect

Would you like more information or would you like a customized solution? We support you in getting the best out of your business. Feel free to contact us by phone, email or visit us in our office.

Address

Munich

Tomannweg 3
81673 Munich

Leipzig

August-Bebel-Str. 41
04275 Leipzig

Atlassian / Confluence

Business Intelligence mit Confluence

hard facts zum projekt

Lösung und Methodologie

Verwendung von Confluence als Dokumentations- und Kommunikationstool, Aufbau eines Berechtigungsmanagement Systems und Integration von Business Intelligence Funktionen in Confluence. Gemeinsam mit Fath24 wurden zunächst alle relevanten Requirements in einem Workshop abgestimmt und auf die Besonderheiten von Confluence und Pocketquery als BI-Tool hingewiesen.

Verwendete Produkte

Atlassian Confluence für Data Center, Refined for Confluence, Pocketquerry, EasyMind, LanguageManager, Translations for Confluence, Advanced Image Gallery, EasyMind, Space Privacy – Extranet for Confluence, Table Filter and Charts for Confluence.

Über Fath24

Die Fath24 ist eine mittelständische Unternehmensgruppe aus dem fränkischen Spalt und hat weltweit rund 350 Mitarbeiter und eigene Produktions-, Logistik- und Vertriebsstandorte in Deutschland, den USA, China, Ungarn, Großbritannien, Mexiko, Brasilien und den Niederlanden. Die Fath24 ist spezialisiert auf die Entwicklung, die Herstellung sowie den Vertrieb von System-Komponenten.

Dazu gehören Komponenten aus den Bereichen Maschinenbau, Industrieller Gehäusebau, Betriebsmittelbau sowie die Visualisierung und dem Materialfluss der Intralogistik.

Nutzung von Confluence als Business Intelligence Tool

Hintergrund zum Projekt

Die Geschäftsführung der Fath24 stand vor der Entscheidung ein neues und voll integriertes Business Intelligence System (BI) zu integrieren. Oftmals ist die Einführung eine zeitlich und sind die meisten dieser BI-Tools oftmals nur für sehr große Unternehmen 100%ig zu nutzen oder die Kosten für derart Systeme extrem hoch und im Mittelstand nicht immer zu rechtfertigen.

Das Ziel der Fath24 war deshalb so gewählt, dass sowohl das Kosten-Nutzenverhältnis ausgewogen sein sollte und zum anderen ein neues BI-System auf die Bedürfnisse von Fath24 genau abgestimmt werden konnte. Zusätzlich musste gewährleistet werden, dass dieses Zentrale Tool auch von allen berechtigten Mitarbeitern ohne erst langwierige Trainings absolvieren oder ein Spezialist auf dem Gebiet sein zu müssen. Weiterhin sollten alle Auswertungen des derzeitigen Systems auch mit dem neuen Tool möglich sein. 

Die Software von Atlassian und LivelyApps – vorrangig Confluence und Pocketquery – waren auf Basis dieser Requirements die logische Wahl. Pocketquery eignet sich in Verbindung mit Google Sheets hervorragend zur grafischen / visuellen Abbildung von großen Datensätzen innerhalb von Confluence und kann je nach Einsatzzweck stark angepasst werden. 

Die wichtigsten Requirements:

Herausforderungen und Lösung

Das alte / bestehende Business Intelligence System (BI) sollte in seiner ursprünglichen Form beibehalten, aber in Confluence abgebildet werden. Weiterhin sollte gewährleistet werden, dass alle existierenden Funktionen in das neue System übernommen werden und für alle berechtigten User einfach zu Verwenden ist. 

Die Herangehensweise

In den meisten Produktions und Industrieunternehmen werden täglich unzählige Erzeugnisse hergestellt, verkauft und dadurch eine Vielzahl an Daten erzeugt, die wiederum in verschiedene System eingespielt werden. Systeme wie ein ERP-System oder auch das interne CRM-System bedürfen meist oft eigenständige Verwaltung und manuellen Export von Daten um diese anschließend mit einem weiteren Tool (BI) zu verarbeiten. 

Bereitstellung der Daten in Confluence

Um zunächst die Möglichkeit zu schaffen Confluence als BI Tool verwenden zu können, mussten alle relevanten Datenbanken zunächst in Confluence zusammen mit Pocketquery integriert und eingebunden werden. Die Daten werden mittels des Plugin Google Sheets anschließend visuell auf einzelnen Confluence Seiten dargestellt und für die Mitarbeiter zugänglich gemacht.

Integration des CRM Systems

Um eine ganzheitliche Abbildung aller Daten zu erhalten, wurde zudem eine Schnittstelle zum CRM-System hergestellt. Damit können die jeweiligen Accounts (Kunden), Produkte oder Produktgruppen mit den konkreten Datensätzen verbunden werden. Aus dieser Überlegung heraus ist es zusätzlich möglich, direkt ganzheitliche Reportings zu den individuellen Kategorien zu erhalten. 

User- & Berechtigungsmanagement

Durch die vorhanden internationale Ausrichtung von Fath ist es notwendig, das ein Berechtigungsmanagement vor unautorisierten Zugang auf bestimmte Unternehmensdaten existiert. Unsere Lösung ist ein umfangreiches Benutzermanagement-System, welches nur jenen Mitarbeiter alle Daten anzeigt, die auch die Berechtigung für den jeweiligen Datensatz haben. Dadurch entfällt letztendlich das Usermanagement aus dem alten BI-System und wird direkt in Confluence gesteuert.

Mehr zu Berechtigungsmanagement für Jira und Confluence finden Sie hier.

Ergebnisse bei Fath24

Mehr informationen

Sie möchten mehr über Confluence erfahren und wie man es als Business Intelligence Tool verwenden kann?

Better call XALT

We help your team achieve greatness in every aspect

Sie möchten mehr Informationen oder wünschen eine maßgeschneiderte Lösung? Wir unterstützen Sie dabei, das Beste aus Ihrem Unternehmen herauszuholen. Kontaktieren Sie uns gerne per Telefon, E-Mail oder besuchen Sie uns in unserem Büro.

Adresse

München

Tomannweg 3
81673 München

Leipzig

August-Bebel-Str. 41
04275 Leipzig