Using Jira Issue Collector as an application form on your website

Embed Jira Issue Collector on website

Share

Share on facebook
Share on linkedin
Share on twitter
Share on email

Jira Service Management (also known as Jira Service Desk) is one of the most comprehensive and widely used ITSM tools. Whether it's internal requests to IT departments or external requests for help, Jira Service Management (JSM) not only gets your team involved immediately and directly. But the people making the requests also get immediate feedback. These requests are usually created with the Issue Collector and can usually be found on service desk pages.

The classic application area of JSM are IT areas in companies, e.g. when employees discover a software bug, they can directly create a ticket via JSM, which can then be processed by their IT or developer team. Working with Jira tickets is an essential component of successful, agile working methods and is indispensable in many modern tech companies today.

But it's not just tech companies that can use JSM for their processes and workflows, and they don't have to limit themselves to IT requests. Jira Service Management offers almost endless possibilities to accelerate your business. In our blog post Fast and efficient application processes with Jira we presented our solution how to use JSM for applicant management. In this second part, we will show how to not only receive applications via email inbox linked to a Jira project and convert them into Jira tickets, but also how to use the issue collector

What is an Issue Collector?

With an Issue Collector, a Jira feedback form can be embedded on your own websites. By clicking on the corresponding trigger - which has to be defined - this form can be opened and after filling it out, a Jira ticket (or issue) can be easily created. The fields of the form can be customized and request essential information, e.g. the cover letter as a text field, the email for notifications and communication, file attachments for resume, job references, etc. 

Why does an issue collector make sense?

As explained in the first part of the blog series, a simple email inbox can be set up and linked to your Jira project. All emails that arrive in the mailbox automatically create a Jira issue that contains all the information and attachments from the email. However, the email inbox may not only receive relevant emails or applications, but also requests from external headhunters or marketing emails. These are then also created as issues in the JSM project and must be filtered out. 

In addition, you may want to invite your applicants to apply directly on the homepage and not use a cumbersome job portal or the way via email. With an issue collector via button-click, the web layout is not disturbed and applicants are not redirected to other pages.

Look best directly on xalt.com/jobs after. In our job posts you will quickly see what we are talking about. Just scroll to this page down until you see the button "Apply directly" and click on it. Don't worry, an application will not be sent to us immediately. Afterwards, a popup will open which contains the Issue Collector of Jira Service Management.

And how do you set up the Issue Collector?

Step one: Creation

  • Select the Jira project for which you want to create tickets via the Issue Collector.
  • Navigate to the Project settings and scroll down until you see the Issue Collector field:
Jira Issue Collector
Jira menu
  • Once there, create a new Issue Collector. 

Step two: Institution

  • In the next window, the name and description of the issue collector can be added and set who should be the default reporter. In this case, the option "Attempt to match submitter email address" can be selected, if the email specified in the issue collector matches a user in their Jira instance, this person will automatically be set as the "reporter" of the ticket. 
  • If external users (e.g. applicants) should be automatically registered as reporters of the created ticket, groovy scripts and postfunctions have to be created, which will be explained in a future blog post. If this feature is already needed, feel free to contact us and we'll be happy to help.
Jira Issue Collector
  • Back to the Issue Collector: In this window the Trigger or triggers can be defined and a preview of the form can be viewed. 
  • To do this, first click on "Custom trigger".
Issue Collector Configuration in Jira
  • Now click on "Custom" under "Issue collector form". Here you can now define the fields of the application form.
  • For our example, we decided to use a simple application form. The field "Position" is the title of the ticket created, so that our HR manager knows immediately to which position the application is addressed.
Jira Issue collector preview
Preview: Jira Form
  • When you are done, save the Issue Collector and you will be taken to the next window.

How to integrate the Issue Collector into websites (HTML or Javascript)?

Step Three: HTML snippet

  • On this page you get the HTML-snippet, or Javascript needed for the embedding. Copy the code into the clipboard or into a text editor.
HTML Snippet for Jira Issue Collector
Jira Issue Collector
  • The next step is to define the custom trigger, i.e. how the issue collector can be opened by applicants. We decided on a simple call to action button, but any element on a website can be set as a trigger, e.g. also images or similar.

Step four: Embed on the website

  • For our job posts we use WordPress Elementorbut you can use any website builder as long as you can edit the HTML code of the page. If you do not have access, it is best to ask the people who manage your website
  • First give the button an ID, for example "apply" as in the screenshot.
Wordpress integration with HTML snippet
WordPress button
  • Then add a custom HTML widget to the page in which the previously copied HTML code from Jira is pasted.
Jira Issue Collector HTML Snippet in Elementor
HTML Widget Configuration in WordPress
  • Search in the code for "#myCustomTrigger" and replace this with the button ID, in this case "#apply".
  • Once the code is embedded, click "save" and the Issue Collector is ready to go

Step Five: Testing

  • The issue collector is embedded and can be opened by clicking on the call to action "Apply directly". To support the display for mobile devices, only a small adjustment needs to be made.
  • To do this, switch from the "Content" window of the HTML widget to "Advanced" and navigate to the "Custom CSS" field.
Wordpress Button Modal
Linking the button to the pop-up modal in Elementor
  • Add the following code as shown in the screenshot, so that the issue collector window scales correctly on mobile devices as well

#atlwdg-container {
    width: calc(100vw - 40px);
    max-width: 810px;
}
@media (max-width: 480px) {
    #atlwdg-container {
        width: 100vw;

        }
}

Bonus: Embedding on Confluence pages

Alternatively, you can use the Issue Collector directly in Confluence pages be embedded.

  • First add the macro "HTML" by searching for HTML under "other macros". 
  • In the HTML macro, you only need to paste the code copied from the Issue Collector.
  • To open the form with a simple button click, add the following code line directly below the Issue Collector script:
HTML Macro Confluence
HTML Macro in Confluence
  • After the Confluence page is updated, the following button appears, which opens the issue collector after a click. Thus, a Jira ticket can be created directly in a Confluence page immediately and without detours. 

Summary & Outlook

Done! With this, the application form is embedded in the form of a Jira issue collector on your website or Confluence and applicants can immediately apply with a Jira ticket. Of course it is possible to use an issue collector for other purposes than applications. You could also add a button to certain Confluence pages or templates to create Jira tickets directly in meeting notes. Or you could add an issue collector to Confluence pages that you use for onboarding new team members, so they can easily give feedback or create support tickets. 

If you'd like to learn more about using Jira and Confluence to set up HR and Recruiting processes in an organization, feel free to check out our blog post.

If you need more detailed information, we would be happy to talk to you at any time, completely free of charge and without obligation. As an Atlassian Gold Solution Partner, we are also happy to advise you on further solutions. On our Atlassian Services page you can learn more about our approach and methodology.

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Get updates and learn from the best

More Blog Posts

Human Resource Management mit Jira
XALT News

So managst du Human Resources mit Jira

Es gibt unzählige Tools zum Managen von Human Resources. Dabei ist meist wichtig, dass diese einfach implementiert werden und möglichst schnell von allen Mitarbeitern

Quality Assurance Testing with XRAY for Jira
Atlassian

Quality Assurance Testing with Xray and Jira

For an IT company it is especially important to deliver a software product with a high quality. The improvement of software development processes and their automation represents a

Better Call XALT

Our support

Have we piqued your interest? Don't delay - get in touch with us. You can reach us by telephone, email or in our office.

Dr. Veronika Traidl

Veronika Traidl

Tomannweg 3, 81673 Munich

Shopping cart

Jira Issue Collector als Bewerbungsformular auf deiner Webseite nutzen

Jira Issue Collector auf Webseite einbetten

Beitrag teilen

Teilen auf facebook
Teilen auf linkedin
Teilen auf twitter
Teilen auf email

Jira Service Management (auch bekannt als Jira Service Desk) ist eines der umfangreichsten und am weitesten verbreiteten ITSM-Tools. Egal ob unternehmensinterne Anfragen an IT-Departments oder externe Hilfsanfragen – mit Jira Service Management (JSM) wird nicht nur ihr Team sofort und direkt involviert. Aber auch die anfragenden Personen bekommen sofort Feedback. Diese Anfragen werden in der Regel mit dem Issue Collector erstellt und finden sich meist auf Service Desk Seiten.

Der klassische Anwendungsbereich von JSM sind IT-Bereiche in Unternehmen, bspw. wenn Mitarbeiter einen Softwarebug entdecken, können sie via JSM direkt ein Ticket erstellen, welches dann von ihrem IT- bzw. Entwickler-Team bearbeitet werden kann. Die Arbeit mit Jira-Tickets ist ein wesentlicher Baustein von erfolgreichen, agilen Arbeitsweisen und in vielen modernen Tech-Unternehmen heutzutage nicht mehr wegzudenken.

Aber nicht nur Tech-Unternehmen können JSM fĂŒr ihre Prozesse und Workflows verwenden und mĂŒssen sich nicht auf IT-Anfragen beschrĂ€nken. Jira Service Management bietet nahezu unendliche Möglichkeiten Ihr Unternehmen zu beschleunigen. In unserem Blog-Beitrag Schnelle und effiziente Bewerbungsprozesse mit Jira haben wir unsere Lösung vorgestellt, wie man JSM fĂŒr Bewerbermanagement einsetzen kann. In diesem zweiten Teil zeigen wir, wie man Bewerbungen nicht nur via mit einem Jira-Projekt verknĂŒpftem E-Mail Postfach erhalten kann und in Jira-Tickets umwandelt, sondern mit dem Issue Collector

Was ist ein Issue Collector?

Mit einem Issue Collector lĂ€sst sich ein Jira-Feedback Formular auf eigenen Websites einbetten. Durch einen Klick auf den entsprechenden Trigger – welcher definiert werden muss – lĂ€sst sich dieses Formular öffnen und nach dem AusfĂŒllen bequem ein Jira-Ticket (bzw. Issue) erstellen. Die Felder des Formulars können dabei individuell angepasst werden und wesentliche Informationen abfragen, z.B. das Anschreiben als Textfeld, die E-Mail fĂŒr Benachrichtigungen und Kommunikation, DateianhĂ€nge fĂŒr Lebenslauf, Arbeitszeugnisse usw. 

Warum macht ein Issue Collector Sinn?

Wie im ersten Teil der Blog-Serie erklĂ€rt, kann ein simples E-Mail Postfach eingerichtet und mit ihrem Jira-Projekt verknĂŒpft werden. Alle E-Mails die in das Postfach gelangen erstellen automatisch ein Jira-Issue, in dem alle Informationen und AnhĂ€nge aus der E-Mail enthalten sind. Jedoch kann es sein, dass das E-Mail Postfach nicht nur relevante E-Mails bzw. Bewerbungen erhĂ€lt, sondern auch Anfragen von externen Headhuntern oder Marketingemails. Diese werden im JSM-Projekt dann auch als Issues erstellt und mĂŒssen  herausgefiltert werden. 

Außerdem kann es sein, dass Sie ihre Bewerber direkt auf der Homepage zur Bewerbung auffordern und kein umstĂ€ndliches Job-Portal oder den Weg via E-Mail nutzen möchten. Mit einem Issue-Collector via Button-click wird das Weblayout nicht gestört und Bewerber nicht auf andere Seiten weitergeleitet.

Schaue am besten direkt auf xalt.de/jobs nach. In unseren Job posts wird schnell sichtbar, wovon wir reden. Scrolle dazu einfach auf dieser Seite so weit herunter, bis der Button „Direkt bewerben“ zu sehen ist und klicke darauf. Keine Sorge, es wird nicht sofort eine Bewerbung an uns abgeschickt. Anschließend wird ein Popup geöffnet, welchen den Issue Collector von Jira Service Management enthĂ€lt.

Und wie richtet man den Issue Collector ein?

Schritt 1: Erstellung

  • WĂ€hle das Jira Projekt aus, fĂŒr das Tickets via dem Issue Collector erstellt werden sollen
  • Navigiere zu den Projekteinstellungen und scrolle so weit nach unten, bis das Feld „Issue Collector“ zu sehen ist:
Jira Issue Collector
Jira MenĂŒ
  • Dort angekommen, erstelle einen neuen Issue Collector. 

Schritt 2: Einrichtung

  • Im nĂ€chsten Fenster kann der Name und die Beschreibung des Issue Collectors hinzugefĂŒgt und eingestellt werden, wer der standardmĂ€ĂŸige Reporter sein soll. In diesem Fall kann die Option „Attempt to match submitter email address“ ausgewĂ€hlt werden, sofern die im Issue Collector angegeben E-Mail mit einem Benutzer in ihrer Jira Instanz ĂŒbereinstimmt, wird diese Person automatisch als „Reporter“ des Tickets gesetzt. 
  • Falls externe Nutzer (z.B. Bewerber) automatisch als Reporter des erstellten Tickets eingetragen werden sollen mĂŒssen groovy scripts und postfunctions erstellt werden, was in einem zukĂŒnftigen Blog Post genauer erklĂ€rt wird. Falls diese Funktion schon jetzt benötigt wird, kontaktiere uns gerne und wir helfen gerne weiter.
Jira Issue Collector
  • ZurĂŒck zum Issue Collector: In diesem Fenster kann der Trigger bzw. Auslöser definiert und eine Vorschau des Formulars betrachtet werden. 
  • Klicke dazu zunĂ€chst auf „Custom trigger“.
Issue Collector Konfiguration in Jira
  • Klicke nun unter „Issue collector form“ auf „Custom“. Hier können nun die Felder des Bewerbungsformulars bestimmt werden.
  • FĂŒr unser Beispiel haben wir uns fĂŒr ein simples Bewerbungsformular entschieden. Das Feld „Position“ ist der Titel des erstellten Tickets, damit unsere HR-Manager sofort weiß, an welche Stelle die Bewerbung gerichtet ist.
Jira Issue collector preview
Preview: Jira Formular
  • Wenn du fertig bist, speichere den Issue Collector und du gelangst zum nĂ€chsten Fenster.

Wie integriert man den Issue Collector in Websites (HTML oder Javascript)?

Schritt 3: HTML-Snippet

  • Auf dieser Seite erhĂ€lt man den fĂŒr die Einbettung benötigten HTML-snippet, bzw. Javascript. Kopieren Sie den Code am besten in die Zwischenablage oder in einen Texteditor.
HTML Snippet for Jira Issue Collector
Jira Issue Collector
  • Als nĂ€chstes gilt es den custom Trigger zu definieren, also wie der Issue collector von Bewerbern geöffnet werden kann. Wir haben uns fĂŒr einen simplen call to action button entschieden, jedoch kann jedes beliebige Element auf einer Website als Trigger eingestellt werden, bspw. auch Bilder oder Ähnliches.

Schritt 4: Auf der Webseite einbetten

  • FĂŒr unsere Job Posts verwenden wir WordPress Elementor, jedoch kann jede beliebige Website-builder benutzen, solange du den HTML-Code der Seite bearbeiten kannst. Falls du keinen Zugriff hast, frage am besten die Personen die deine Website managen
  • Gebe als erstes dem button eine ID, beispielsweise „apply“ wie im screenshot
Wordpress Integration mit HTML Snippet
WordPress Button
  • FĂŒge dann ein custom HTML-Widget auf die Seite hinzu in das de zuvor kopierte HTML-Code aus Jira eingefĂŒgt wird.
Jira Issue Collector HTML Snippet in Elementor
HTML Widget Konfiguration in WordPress
  • Suche in dem Code nach „#myCustomTrigger“ und tausche dies mit der Button-ID aus, in diesem Fall „#apply“
  • Sobald der Code eingebettet ist, klicke auf „speichern“ und der Issue Collector ist bereit

Schritt 5: Testen

  • Der Issue Collector ist damit eingebettet und kann per Klick auf den call to action „Direkt bewerben“ geöffnet werden. Um die Darstellung fĂŒr mobile GerĂ€te zu unterstĂŒtzen muss nur noch eine kleine Anpassung gemacht werden.
  • Wechsel dazu vom Fenster „Inhalt“ des HTML-Widgets zu „Erweitert“ und navigiere zum Feld „Eigenes CSS“.
Wordpress Button Modal
VerknĂŒpfen des Buttons mit dem Pop-up modal in Elementor
  • FĂŒge wie im Screenshot den folgenden Code ein, damit das Fenster des issue collectors auch auf mobilen GerĂ€ten richtig skaliert

#atlwdg-container {
    width: calc(100vw – 40px);
    max-width: 810px;
}
@media (max-width: 480px) {
    #atlwdg-container {
        width: 100vw;

        }
}

Bonus: Einbettung auf Confluence Seiten

Alternativ kann der Issue Collector auch direkt in Confluence Seiten eingebettet werden.

  • FĂŒge dazu als erstes das Makro „HTML“ ein indem du unter „other macros“ nach HTML suchst. 
  • Im HTML-Makro muss dann nur noch der aus dem Issue Collector kopierte Code eingefĂŒgt werden.
  • Um dann auch per simplen Knopfdruck das Formular zu öffnen, fĂŒge folgende Codezeile direkt unter dem Issue Collector script ein:
HTML Macro Confluence
HTML Macro in Confluence
  • Nachdem die Confluence Seite upgedatet wird, erscheint folgender Button, der nach einem Klick den issue collector öffnet. Somit kann sofort und ohne Umwege ein Jira Ticket direkt in einer Confluence Seite erstellt werden. 

Zusammenfassung & Ausblick

Fertig! Damit haben ist das Bewerbungsformular in Form eines Jira Issue collector auf deiner Website bzw. Confluence eingebettet und Bewerber können sich sofort mit einem Jira Ticket bewerben. NatĂŒrlich ist es möglich einen issue collector fĂŒr andere Zwecke als Bewerbungen zu verwenden. Denkbar wĂ€re auch, einen Button auf bestimmten Confluence Seiten bzw. in Templates einzufĂŒgen, um praktisch in Meeting notes direkt Jira Tickets erstellen zu können. Oder du baust einen Issue Collector auf Confluence Seiten ein die du fĂŒr Onboardings neuer Teammitglieder verwendest, damit sie einfach Feedback geben können oder Support-Tickets erstellen. 

Wenn du mehr darĂŒber erfahren möchtest, wie man mit Jira und Confluence HR und Recruiting Prozesse in einem Unternehmen aufsetzen kann, schaue dir gerne unseren Blog Post an.

Falls du noch detaillierte Informationen benötigst freuen wir uns jederzeit ĂŒber ein gemeinsames GesprĂ€ch, ganz unverbindlich und kostenlos. Als Atlassian Gold Solution Partner beraten wir dich gerne auch bei weiteren Lösungsfindungen. Auf unsere Atlassian Services Seite kannst du mehr ĂŒber unsere Herangehensweise und Methodik erfahren.

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Get updates and learn from the best

Weitere Blog-BeitrÀge

Human Resource Management mit Jira
XALT News

So managst du Human Resources mit Jira

Es gibt unzÀhlige Tools zum Managen von Human Resources. Dabei ist meist wichtig, dass diese einfach implementiert werden und möglichst schnell von allen Mitarbeitern

Quality Assurance Testing mit XRAY for Jira
Atlassian

Quality Assurance Testing mit Xray und Jira

FĂŒr ein IT-Unternehmen ist es besonders wichtig ein Software-Produkt mit einer hohen QualitĂ€t zu liefern. Die Verbesserung von Softwareentwicklungsprozessen und deren Automatisierung stellt eine

Better Call Xalt

Unsere UnterstĂŒtzung

Wir haben Ihr Interesse geweckt? Zögern Sie nicht, mit uns in Kontakt zu treten. Sie erreichen uns per Telefon, E-Mail oder in unserem BĂŒro.

Dr. Veronika Traidl

Veronika Traidl

Tomannweg 3, 81673 MĂŒnchen

Einkaufskorb