The 4 best social intranet solutions in comparison

Social Intranet Corporate Intranet Solution Comparison

Share

In the past, only large companies had an intranet. Nowadays, in the era of hybrid and remote work models, more and more small and medium-sized companies are using such tools to communicate with their employees worldwide and at any time. In this article, we will show you what an intranet is, what types of intranets there are and what are the 4 best corporate or social intranet software solutions on the market. And most importantly, what benefits you can get from an Intranet for your company.

What is an intranet?

Corporate intranets are private, internal networks within the company. With such software solutions, you can communicate and collaborate - tailored to the needs of individual departments, teams, or the entire company. In times when open communication and flat hierarchies are becoming the norm, the intranet (inter-software) is becoming increasingly important. In the past, an intranet was primarily used for announcing information from management positions. In other words, there is a difference between traditional intranet software and social intranet software.

The focus is on social

Modern intranet solutions therefore focus on social functions and include elements of social media platforms. In addition to classic top-down communication, all employees can communicate with each other on the social intranet, publish contributions and comments, network and share files. In this sense, a corporate social intranet is basically like LinkedIn or Facebook.

The basic idea behind an intranet is that employees always have direct contact with your company, thus establishing a deeper sense of belonging.

One of the most important aspects is communication and the provision of important information. Of course, every employee should also be made aware of the intranet during onboarding, create a profile, and network within the company.

Requirements and purpose

What the intranet is ultimately used for depends on what your company's requirements are. Simply put, should it only be used to communicate important information or to strengthen a sense of belonging?

In any case, an intranet has not only positive internal effects, but also external ones. Consistent branding and targeted communication convey a common set of values and thus strengthen the entire corporate image, both internally and externally.

Corporate and Social Intranet offers you these functions and features

Social intranets offer a wide range of functions, features, and customization options. And they can be tailored to your company's specific needs. Before you decide which provider to go with, make sure you've determined exactly what you want your intranet to be able to do and what you don't want it to be able to do. Below you will find a list of common features of corporate intranet solutions.

  • Single sign-on with Google (or similar) to other tools used.
  • Accounts and personal profile for all employees.
  • Encrypted permissions and access management (a plus for your IT & Compliance department).
  • Chat function and Integrations to Slack, Microsoft Teams and co.
  • The division into business units and departments. Even Spaces for individual teams are configurable.
  • Newsfeed with all relevant information of the C-Suite or Executive level.
  • Newsfeed from and for all employees.
  • Social media features like a comment function, like and share button.
  • Provision of important information for and by teams: For the sustainable provision, of know-how/knowledge (More about this in our Webinar) via a Knowledge database in the form of wikis and blogs.
  • Sharing documents and other files.
  • Access to an employee database that allows anyone to find the right expert or contact person.
  • Access for external employees and customers in the form of an extranet (closed area on the intranet).
  • Interfaces to other, external tools such as Slack, HubSpot (CRM), or Google Workspace (+ many others). This makes your intranet the digital hub of your company.
  • Time tracking for projects or employees.

SaaS, on-premise or in the cloud?

You're spoilt for choice; that's how it is when you're looking for intranet solutions. But that's not all, the requirements of your company determine which type of infrastructure is suitable for you.

You can choose between SaaS (Software as a Service), on-premise (on your own server - in-house), or in the cloud at AWS and Azure.

The last two are more complex in terms of configuration, administration, and maintenance. Often, the costs here can even be higher than for modern intranet SaaS solutions. Here, you have to reckon with costs in terms of hosting, server infrastructure, and personnel. The big advantage: Your data stays with you in the company and does not end up on unknown servers. DSGVO and data protection and compliance regulations are more easily achieved here. But even here there are exceptions (Confluence Intranet with Linchpin).

If you choose SaaS solutions, on the other hand, the provider usually takes care of everything. However, you should first make sure that the security regulations are adhered to. Not all providers are DSGVO-compliant here.

The 4 best social and corporate intranet software solutions on the market

Remember, there are many intranet software solutions on the market. In the end, your company's requirements determine which solution is the right one. So it's important to know what your company's goals are. In our corporate intranet comparison, you will find a detailed list of social and corporate intranet solutions.

Confluence Intranet from Linchpin and Atlassian

Social Intranet BSH with Confluence and Linchpin
Social & Corporate Intranet at B/S/H

Confluence is actually more of a collaboration and wiki platform than an intranet. But with the Linchpin app, the software becomes a true all-rounder. This bundle is already used by a large number of customers worldwide. It doesn't matter if your company has "only" 100 or 50,000 employees and is distributed worldwide.

Linchpin and Confluence have the advantage of being modularly tailored to a wide variety of requirements and cover pretty much all of the functions and features mentioned above.

In addition, this type of solution is available for both the data center and cloud solutions. This means you always have full control over your company data and meet current compliance and security regulations.

The intranet solution can also be easily adapted to your brand and therefore offers the option of communicating your company's identity continuously. Through a sophisticated authorization and access management, individual intranet areas can be made accessible only to certain user groups.

Furthermore, the solution includes an app for all common mobile operating systems such as iOS or Android.

A big plus point with Confluence is the Atlassian Marketplacewhere you can find countless integrations, extensions, and apps that extend your system with important functions. The Atlassian Community also helps you with all your questions.

Costs

The costs for Confluence and Linchpin depend on the number of active users. Only the basic version with 10 users is free in the cloud version (hosted by Atlassian via AWS). Linchpin is currently only available for data centers. A cloud version is in the works.

Confluence is divided into the Cloud and Data Center variants. Where the Cloud is already available for teams of 10 - 30,000 users, Confluence Data Center is suitable for companies with 500 or more employees. Costs for Confluence Data Center start at 27,000 USD. However, this does not include the necessary server infrastructure. The cloud, on the other hand, is free for 10 users and increases depending on the user tier. For 500 employees, the costs range between 20,000 USD and 36,000 USD.

In addition to the actual system costs, you will also have to pay for Linchpin.

You can find more details about the costs here: Confluence and Linchpin.

Success Story - Social Intranet B/S/H/

Learn how B/S/H/ uses a Confluence intranet to provide over 60,000 employees with the latest information every day, strengthen your brand worldwide, and create a sense of connection.

Staffbase

Source: Staffbase

With Staffbase you can bring all your employees together - anywhere, anytime, and on any device. With their cloud solution, your intranet can be accessed from smartphones, tablets, and desktop computers. The advantage: a consistent user experience across all devices!

The design of the app and intranet is fully customizable. So you can easily set up multiple sections and distribute them to different audiences - or work locations - within your organization.

Costs

Staffbase, the German company that is developing an online intranet solution with the name "Staffbase", is already working with well-known companies like Aldi Süd, Viessmann, and DHL. The company provides personalized service for each of its partners. This means that each company is offered a special offer based on their individual needs and requirements. Staffbase also offers support services, such as training and consulting, to help businesses improve their internal communication flows.

Microsoft SharePoint

Social Intranet SharePoint
Source: Microsoft SharePoint

Everyone has probably come into contact with SharePoint. The software helps companies share information and collaborate seamlessly on the go. It enables teams not only to exchange information but also to share files and other documents and to get the latest information about the company via top-down communication.

SharePoint also offers the option to create separate areas for each team and customize them according to your needs. With the help of apps and extensions, you can also expand the range of functions. As one of the first corporate intranet solutions ever, there is also a strong community that helps you get the most out of the solution.

Costs

If your company already uses Office 365 in the Business or Enterprise variant, you can use SharePoint free of charge. For all other interested parties, the lowest rate starts at EUR 4.20 for Plan 1 or EUR 8.40 for Plan 2 per user. As a complete package with Office 365, you will pay 22.60 EUR per user.

Jive

Social Intranet Corporate Intranet Jive
Source: Jive

Jive's social intranet software is designed to increase the productivity of your employees with the help of a knowledge base and real-time communication. The software works both as a desktop version and as an app. You also have an integrated collaborative CRM and can create and send newsletters internally. So that you don't have to constantly switch between different programs, Jive integrates numerous applications.

The best thing about Jive, however, is its ease of use. The software makes it easy for your employees to collaborate by, among other things, allowing them to create their own internal blogs where they can write about their current projects or exchange ideas with their colleagues. You can also share information on a central platform and keep track of all important data in real-time.

This way, your employees always have access to all relevant information to make decisions faster, solve problems more efficiently and thus increase the productivity of your company.

Costs

Similar to Staffbase, you have to send a request to Jive to get a quote.

Learn more here: Jive.

Conclusion

One factor you need to consider with almost all social or corporate intranet solutions is the necessary configuration. Depending on the infrastructure you end up using, maintenance and technical support are also not to be neglected. External support is necessary in most cases. As an intranet solution partner, we take care of the configuration and maintenance of your Confluence intranet. Get to know us.

This might also interest you

Mario Schaefer 2022-05-23
0

How to get started with DevOps automation and why it matters.

DevOps automation enables faster and more consistent deployments, better deployment tracking, and better

XALT News
Mario Schaefer 2022-05-12
0

The first Girls' Day at XALT 2022.

Girls' Day is a nationwide campaign in which schoolgirls in the 5th grade and above spend a day

XALT News
Philip Kroos 2022-05-05
0

Frontend Developer - React (m/f/d)

We are TEAM XALT, a startup specializing in DevSecOps & business process digitalization from

Job
Shopping cart
Knowledge management with Confluence

Webinar

Knowledge management with Confluence

Learn more about knowledge management, Confluence and how to make know-how available and usable in your company in a sustainable way.

B/S/H

BSH Hausgeräte GmbH is the largest manufacturer of household appliances in Europe and one of the world's leading companies in this sector.

Projects & Solutions

Die 4 besten Social Intranet Lösungen im Vergleich

Social Intranet Corporate Intranet Solution Comparison

Beitrag teilen

Früher hatten oft nur große Unternehmen ein Intranet. Heutzutage, in der Zeit von Hybrid und Remote Work Modellen dagegen setzen immer mehr Kleine und Mittelständische Unternehmen auf solche Tools um mit Ihren Mitarbeitern weltweit und zu jederzeit kommunizieren zu können. In diesem Artikel zeigen wir euch, was ein Intranet ist, welche Arten von Intranet es gibt und was die 4 besten Corporate bzw. Social Intranet Software-Lösungen sind. Und vor allem welchen Nutzen Ihr für eurer Unternehmen daraus ziehen könnt.

Was ist ein Intranet?

Firmenintranets sind private, interne Netzwerke innerhalb des Unternehmens. Mit einer solchen Software kannst du kommunizieren und – zugeschnitten auf die Bedürfnisse der einzelnen Abteilungen, Teams oder des gesamten Unternehmens – zusammenarbeiten. In Zeiten, in denen offene Kommunikation und flache Hierarchien zur Norm werden, gewinnt das Intranet (Inter-Software) zunehmend an Bedeutung. Ein Intranet wurde in der Vergangenheit vor allem für die Bekanntgabe von Informationen aus den Führungspositionen genutzt. Anders ausgedrückt: Es gibt einen Unterschied zwischen traditioneller Intranet-Software und sozialer Intranet-Software.

Der Fokus liegt auf Social

Moderne Intranet-Lösungen legen demnach den Fokus auf soziale Funktionen und beinhalten Elemente von Social Media Plattformen. Neben klassischer Top-Down Kommunikation können im Social Intranet alle Mitarbeiten untereinander kommunizieren, Beiträge und Kommentare veröffentlichen, netzwerken und Dateien teilen. In diesem Sinn ist ein Corporate Social Intranet im Grunde wie LinkedIn oder Facebook.

Der Grundgedanke bei einem Intranetliegt vor allem darin, dass Mitarbeiter stets einen direkten Kontakt zu Ihrem Unternehmen haben und sich damit ein tieferes Zugehörigkeitsgefühl etabliert.

Dabei ist die Kommunikation und die Bereitstellung von wichtigen Informationen mit das wichtigste. Natürlich sollte jeder Mitarbeiter während des Onboardings auch auf das Intranet aufmerksam gemacht werden, ein Profil anlegen und erste Kontakte knüpfen.

Anforderung und Zweck

Wofür das Intranet letztendlich verwendet wird, hängt davon ab, welche Requirements dein Unternehmen hat. Einfach Ausgrdrückt, soll es lediglich zur Kommunikation wichtiger Informationen oder zur Stärkung der Zusammengehörigkeit genutzt werden können?

In jedem Fall, hat ein Intranet nicht nur positive interne Effekte, sondern auch nach Außen. Konsequentes Branding und zielgerichtete Kommunikation vermitteln eine gemeinsame Wertebasis und stärken so den gesamten Unternehmensauftritt, nach Innen und Außen.

Diese Funktionen und Features bietet euch Corporate und Social Intranet

Social Intranets bieten eine Vielzahl an Funktionen, Features und Anpassungsmöglichkeiten. Und können ganz gezielt auf die Anforderungen deines Unternehmens zugeschnitten werden. Bevor du dich jetzt für direkt einen Anbieter entscheidest solltest du sicher sein, dass du genau bestimmt hast, was dein Intranet können soll und was nicht. Im Anschluss findest du eine Liste mit gängigen Features von Corporate Intranet Lösungen.

  • Single-Sign-On mit Google (o.ä.) zu anderen genutzten Tools.
  • Accounts und persönliches Profil für alle Mitarbeiter.
  • Verschlüsseltes Berechtigungs- und Zugriffsmanagement (ein Pluspunkt für deine IT & Complience Abteilung).
  • Chatfunktion und Integrationen zu Slack, Microsoft Teams und co.
  • Aufteilung in Unternehmensbereichen und Abteilungen. Sogar Spaces für einzelne Teams sind konfigurierbar.
  • Newsfeed mit allen relevanten Informationen des C bzw. Executive Levels.
  • Newsfeed von und für alle Angestellten.
  • Social Media Features wie eine Kommentarfunktion, Like und Share Button.
  • Bereitstellung von wichtigen Informationen für und von Teams: Zur nachhaltigen Bereitstellung, von Knowhow/Wissen (Mehr darüber in unserem Webinar) über eine Wissensdatenbank in Form von Wikis und Blogs.
  • Teilen von Dokumenten und anderen Dateien.
  • Ein Zugang zu einer Mitarbeiter-Datenbank, die es jedem ermöglicht, den richtigen Experten oder Ansprechpartner zu finden.
  • Zugang für externe Mitarbeiter und Kunden in Form eines Extranets (geschlossener Bereich im Intranet).
  • Schnittstellen zu anderen, externen Tools wie Slack, HubSpot (CRM) oder Google Workspace (+ viele andere). Damit wird dein Intranet die digitale Zentrale in deinem Unternehmen.
  • Zeiterfassung für Projekte oder Mitarbeiter.

SaaS, On-Premise oder in der Cloud?

Du hast die Qual der Wahl; So oder so ähnlich verhält es dich, wenn du nach Intranet Lösungen suchst. Doch damit noch nicht genug, bestimmen die Anforderungen deines Unternehmens, welche Art Infrastruktur für dich in Frage kommt.

Dabei hast du die Wahl zwischen SaaS (Software as a Service), On-Premise (auf deinen eigenen Server – inhouse) oder in der Cloud bei AWS und Azure.

Die letzten beiden sind dabei aufwändiger hinsichtlich Konfiguration, Verwaltung und Wartung. Oftmals können hier sogar die Kosten höher ausfallen, als bei modernen Intranet SaaS-Lösungen. Hier sind mit Kosten hinsichtlich Hosting, Server-Infrastruktur und Personal zu rechnen. Der große Vorteil: Deine Daten bleiben bei dir im Unternehmen und landen nicht auf unbekannten Servern. DSGVO bzw. Datenschutz- und Compliance Bestimmungen werder hier einfacher erreicht. Doch auch hier gibt es Ausnahmen (Confluence Intranet mit Linchpin).

Wählst du dagegen SaaS-Lösungen, kümmert sich in der der Regel der Anbieter um alles. Doch auch hier solltest du zunächst sicherstellen, dass die Sicherheitsbestimmungen eingehalten werden. Nicht alle Anbieter sind hier DSGVO-Konform.

Die 4 besten Social und Corporate Intranet Software-Lösungen auf dem Markt

Vergiss nicht, es gibt zwar viele Intranet Software-Löungen auf dem Markt. Am Ende bestimmen die Anforderungen deines Unternehmens welche Lösung die richtige ist. Es ist also wichtig, welche Ziele dein Unternehmen verfolgt. In unserem Corporate Intranet Vergleich findest du einen detaillierten Vergleich von Social bzw. Corporate Intranet Lösungen.

Confluence Intranet von Linchpin und Atlassian

Social Intranet BSH mit Confluence und Linchpin
Social & Corporate Intranet bei B/S/H

Eigentlich ist Confluence mehr eine Kollaborations und Wiki-Plattform als ein Intranet. Doch mit der App Linchpin wird das Tool zu einem wahren Alleskönner. DIeses Bundle wird bereits von einer Vielzahl von Kunden weltweit eingesetzt. Dabei spielt es keine Rolle ob dein Unternehmen “nur” 100 oder 50.000 Mitarbeiter hat und weltweit verteilt ist.

Linchpin und Confluence hat den Vorteil, modular auf verschiedenste Anforderungen zugeschnitten zu werden und deckt so ziemlich alle oben genannten Funktionen und Features ab.

Zusätzlich ist diese Art von Lösung sowohl als Data Center und Cloud Lösung verfügbar. Damit hast du stets die volle Kontrolle über deine Unternehmensdaten und erfüllst gängige Compliance- und Sicherheitsvorschriften.

Die Intranet-Lösung kann zudem einfach an deine Brand angepasst werden und bietete damit die Option durchgehend die Identität deines Unternehmens zu vermitteln. Durch ein ausgeklügeltes Berechtigungs- und Zugriffsmanagement können einzelne Intranet-Bereiche nur bestimmten Nutzer-Gruppen zugänglich gemacht werden.

Weiterhin beinhaltet die Lösung eine App für alle gängingen mobilen Betriebssysteme wie iOS oder Android.

Ein großer Pluspunkt bei Confluence ist der Atlassian Marketplace, auf dem du unzählige Integrationen, Erweiterung und Apps findest die dein System um wichtige Funktionen erweitern. Die Atlassian Community hilft dir zudem bei allen Fragen weiter.

Kosten

Die Kosten bei Confluence und Linchpin richten sich nach der Anzahl der aktiven User. Einzig die Basis-Variante mit 10 Usern ist kostenlos in der Cloud-Variante (gehostet bei Atlassian über AWS). Linchpin ist aktuell nur für Data Center verfügbar. Ein Cloud Version ist in arbeit.

Confluence unterteilt sich dabei in die Cloud und Data Center Variante. Wo die Cloud bereits für Teams von 10 – 30.000 Usern verfügbar ist, ist Confluence Data Center für Unternehmen ab 500 Mitarbeiter geeignet. Die Kosten belaufen sich hier für Confluence auf 27.000 USD. Wobei hier die notwendige Server Infrastruktur noch nicht enthalten ist. Die Coud ist dagegen für 10 User kostenlos und steigert sich je nach User Tier. Für 500 Mitarbeiter belaufen sich die Kosten zwischen 20.000 USD und 36000 USD.

Zu den eigentlichen Systemkosten kommen dann noch dich Kosten für Linchpin auf dich zu.

Näheres zu den Kosten findest du hier: Confluence und Linchpin.

Success Story – Social Intranet B/S/H/

Erfahre wie B/S/H/ über 60.000 Mitarbeiter täglich mit einem Confluence Intranet mit den neuesten Informationen versorgt, weltweit Ihre Marke stärkt schafft und ein Gefühl der Verbundenheit schafft.

Staffbase

Quelle: Staffbase

Mit Staffbase kannst du alle deine Mitarbeiter zusammenbringen – überall, jederzeit und auf jedem Gerät. Mit unserer Cloud-Lösung kann auf dein Intranet von Smartphones, Tablets und Desktop-Computern aus zugegriffen werden. Der Vorteil: ein einheitliches Nutzererlebnis über alle Geräte hinweg!

Das Design der App und des Intranets ist vollständig anpassbar. So kannst du ganz einfach mehrere Bereiche einrichten und sie an verschiedene Zielgruppen – oder Arbeitsorte – innerhalb deines Unternehmens verteilen.

Kosten

Staffbase, the German company that is developing an online intranet solution with the name „Staffbase“, is already working with well-known companies like Aldi Süd, Viessmann, and DHL. The company provides personalized service for each of its partners. This means that each company is offered a special offer based on their individual needs and requirements. Staffbase also offers support services, such as training and consulting, to help businesses improve their internal communication flows.

Microsoft SharePoint

Social Intranet SharePoint
Quelle: Microsoft SharePoint

Mit SharePoint ist wahrscheinlich schon jeder einmal in Kontakt gekommen. Die Software unterstützt Unternehmen dabei auch mobil Informationen zu teilen und nahtlos zusammenzuarbeiten. Es ermöglicht Teams nicht nur sich auszutauschen, sondern auch Dateien und andere Dokumente zu teilen und mittels Top-Down Kommunikation die Neuesten Informationen rund um das Unternehmen zu erhalten.

SharePoint bietet zudem die Option für jedes Team eigene Bereiche zu erstellen und anhand deinen Anforderungen angepasst werden. Mit Hilfe von Apps und Erweiterungen erweiterst du zudem noch den Funktionsumfang. Als einer der ersten Corporate Intranet-Lösungen überhaupt gibt es zudem eine starke Community die dir dabei Hilft das Maximum aus der Lösung herauszuholen.

Kosten

Verwendet dein Unternehmen bereits Office 365 in der Business oder Enterprise Variante? Dann kannst du SharePoint kostenlos nutzen. Für alle anderen Interessierten beginnt der günstigste Tarif bei 4,20 EUR für Plan 1 oder 8,40 EUR für Plan 2 je User. Als Komplettpaket mit Office 365 kommen 22,60 EUR auf dich je User zu.

Jive

Social Intranet Corporate Intranet Jive
Quelle: Jive

Die Social Intranet-Software von Jive wurde entwickelt, um die Produktivität deiner Mitarbeiter mit Hilfe einer Wissensdatenbank und Echtzeitkommunikation zu steigern. Die Software funktioniert sowohl als Desktop-Version als auch als App. Darüber hinaus hast du ein integriertes kollaboratives CRM und kannst Newsletter erstellen und intern versenden. Damit du nicht ständig zwischen verschiedenen Programmen wechseln musst, integriert Jive zahlreiche Anwendungen.

Das Beste an Jive ist jedoch seine Benutzerfreundlichkeit. Die Software macht es deinen Mitarbeitern leicht, zusammenzuarbeiten, indem sie unter anderem eigene interne Blogs erstellen können, in denen sie über ihre aktuellen Projekte schreiben oder sich mit ihren Kollegen austauschen können. Außerdem kannst du Informationen auf einer zentralen Plattform austauschen und alle wichtigen Daten in Echtzeit im Blick behalten.

So haben deine Mitarbeiter/innen immer Zugriff auf alle relevanten Informationen, um schneller Entscheidungen zu treffen, Probleme effizienter zu lösen und damit die Produktivität deines Unternehmens zu steigern.

Kosten

Ähnlich wie bei Staffbase, musst du auch bei Jive an Anfrage stellen um ein Angebot zu erhalten.

Mehr erfährst du hier: Jive.

Fazit

Ein Faktor, den du bei beinahe allen Social bzw. Corporate Intranet Lösungen berücksichtigen musst, ist die notwendige Konfiguration. Je nachdem welche Infrastruktur du am Ende nutzen wirst, ist auch die Wartung und technische Unterstützung nicht zu vernachlässigen. Externe Unterstützung ist hier in den meisten Fällen notwendig. Als Intranet-Solution Partner übernehmen wir für dich die Konfiguration und Wartung deines Confluence Intranet. Lerne uns kennen.

Das könnte dich auch interessieren

Mario Schaefer 2022-05-12
0

Der erste Girls’Day bei XALT 2022

Der Girls'Day ist eine bundesweite Aktion, bei der Schülerinnen ab der 5. Klasse einen Tag

XALT News
Philip Kroos 2022-05-05
0

Frontend Developer – React (m/w/d)

Wir sind TEAM XALT, ein Startup mit Spezialisierung auf DevSecOps & Digitalisierung von Geschäftsprozessen aus

Job
Mario Schaefer 2022-05-03
0

DevOps: How to get started – Wie der Einstieg gelingt

Wenn du neu bei DevOps bist, kann es überwältigend sein, zu wissen, wo du anfangen

DevOps
Einkaufskorb
Wissensmanagement mit Confluence

Webinar

Wissensmanagement mit Confluence

Erfahre mehr über Wissensmanagement, Confluence und wie du Knowhow in deinen Unternehmen nachhaltig bereitstellst und nutzbar machst.

B/S/H

Die BSH Hausgeräte GmbH ist der größte Hersteller von Haushaltsgeräten in Europa und eines der weltweit führenden Unternehmen in dieser Branche.

Projekte & Lösungen