The best equipment for your home office

Home office equipment

Share

Remote work is on everyone's lips and has become an integral part of the modern working world. But besides "simply working from home" and working productively in a home office, there are some essential differences. An important factor for getting off to a good start is the right Home office equipment.

While some of the items listed below are essential, others are just plain useful in the home office.

Standing desk

Standing desks, or adjustable height desks, are a great way to start your day - both for your health and your productivity. If you're ready to make the leap from sitting to standing, we recommend a standing desk that can be used in multiple positions. This way, you can easily switch between sitting and standing during your workday.

Many of our employees use height-adjustable desks such as the EG8 in white from FlexiSpot.

Ergonomic office chair

Besides the desk, there is another important piece of furniture your home office equipment - the office chair. Sitting for long periods of time can plague the body with lower back, neck and shoulder pain, difficulty moving and lethargy. A supportive office chair can help alleviate some of the negative effects of sitting.

For example, we replaced the chairs in our office in Leipzig at the beginning of 2022 and now all sit on chairs from Sedus.

Quick note: The stool in the above picture is of course the exact opposite of an ergonomic chair (was not delivered at the time of the photo). 🤣

Second monitor

A laptop screen alone may not be enough, especially if you're used to working with a large monitor or multiple screens. Home office monitor prices vary significantly depending on size, quality, and features, but entry-level models can be quite inexpensive.

If you work a lot with graphics or videos, you need a high-resolution monitor with accurate colors. Monitors come in different sizes, which is also an important detail for the purchase. You should have enough distance from the monitor, otherwise it might have bad effects on your eyes and cause fatigue faster.

At XALT we like to work with Monitors from DELL, for example the S2721QS.

So consider the space you have available, the height and depth of your desk, and the height of your chair. The largest monitor may not necessarily be the best one for your needs.

Laptop stand

To avoid health problems such as back pain, neck pain and eye pain in the home office, you should use a laptop stand when working at your computer. A laptop stand should be part of any good home office equipment, it raises the computer screen and helps you position your laptop at eye level.
At the same time, you improve your sitting position and prevent back pain. By raising the laptop, the air circulation improves and there is less heat.

We can use the stand from Rain Design recommend for just under 55 euros
The initial cost varies depending on the brand and size of the product. Portable stands are usually slightly more expensive than fixed models.

Wireless keyboard and mouse

If you put your laptop on a stand, as recommended above, you should invest in a wireless keyboard for your home office. You don't have to spend a lot of money for a simple wireless keyboard and mouse that serves its purpose.

Look for a long battery life so you don't spend more time charging them than using them. If you work with numbers a lot, consider a keyboard with a separate number pad. Also, pay attention to the noise level. Some keyboards are much louder than others, which can be a real problem in small apartments!

You can get a good wireless mouse for a few euros or spend a little more to add some handy features. The mouse MX Master 3 Logitech mouse is connected via Bluetooth or USB receiver, can be operated on almost any surface and supports up to three computers simultaneously. Therefore, this is perfect for our office, where the workstations are used by several employees.

Of course the Magic Mouse and that Magic Keyboard from Apple unbeatable - some people prefer the MX Master 3 because of its ergonomic design.

Headset for remote work

Headset

For home workers who work in small teams or need to connect with colleagues in other offices, a good headset is an essential tool. There are two important points to look for in a headset: Headsets with noise cancellation and Bluetooth wireless devices. Headsets look professional and help you have undisturbed conversations even in a slightly noisier environment.

When it comes to headsets, we at XALT fully rely on the products of Jabra - either the Evolve 30 MS with cable or the Evolve2 65 wireless.
For meetings with several employees in the same room we use in Munich and Leipzig the Jabra Speak 510.

Conclusion

The right home office equipment and especially good accessories are very important from our point of view. Yes, it's not exactly cheap and you can quickly reach a four-digit euro range. But it's money well spent, as it has a positive effect on your own health (back, eyes, wrists, etc.) and you can work in a much more relaxed way.

Our team decides for itself where it wants to work: in the office (Munich or Leipzig), in a home office or in a coworking space such as Design Offices.

Sometimes you don't want anyone around to help you focus and get things done better. And some days you want to talk about joint projects with your colleagues in the office or need a change of scenery from home.

That is why XALT offers its Team members the possibility to choose the place of work and provides the right equipment for the home office.

This might also interest you

Mario Schaefer 2022-09-26
0

How to deploy 100 times a day to the production environment (CI / CD)

The success of a software company depends on its ability to deliver new features in a short time,

CI/CD Cloud
Mario Schaefer 2022-09-19
0

What is Infrastructure as Code (IaC)?

Infrastructure as Code describes the management and deployment of computer data centers through machine-readable

As a DevOps
Mario Schaefer 2022-09-15
0

BSH Home Appliances wins Inkometa Award for Best Intranet

BSH Hausgeräte has won the Inkometa Award for the best intranet in the Social Intranet category.

XALT News
Shopping cart

B/S/H

BSH Hausgeräte GmbH is the largest manufacturer of household appliances in Europe and one of the world's leading companies in this sector.

Projects & Solutions

Die beste Ausstattung für dein Home Office

Home Office Ausstattung

Beitrag teilen

Remote Work ist in aller Munde und aus der modernen Arbeitswelt nicht mehr weg zu denken. Doch neben “einfach von zu Hause aus” arbeiten und produktivem arbeiten im Home Office gibt es einige essenzielle Unterschiede. Ein wichtiger Faktor um einen guten Start hinzulegen, ist die richtige Home Office Ausstattung.

Während einige der unten aufgelisteten Artikel unverzichtbar sind, sind andere im Home Office einfach nur nützlich.

Stehschreibtisch

Stehschreibtische oder auch höhenverstellbare Schreibtische sind eine großartige Möglichkeit, den Tag zu beginnen – sowohl für Ihre Gesundheit als auch für Ihre Produktivität. Wenn Sie bereit sind, den Sprung vom Sitzen zum Stehen zu wagen, empfehlen wir Ihnen ein Stehschreibtisch, der in mehreren Positionen verwendet werden kann. So können Sie während Ihres Arbeitstages problemlos zwischen Sitzen und Stehen wechseln.

Viele unserer Mitarbeitenden nutzen höhenverstellbare Schreibtische wie etwas den EG8 in weiß von FlexiSpot.

Ergonomischer Bürostuhl

Neben dem Schreibtisch gibt es ein weiteres wichtiges Möbelstück Ihre Home Office Ausstattung – den Bürostuhl. Langes Sitzen kann den Körper mit Schmerzen im unteren Rücken, im Nacken und in den Schultern, mit Bewegungsschwierigkeiten und Lethargie belasten. Ein stützender Bürostuhl kann helfen, einige der negativen Auswirkungen des Sitzens zu mildern.

Wir haben beipielsweise Anfang 2022 die Stühle in unserem Office in Leipzig ausgetauscht und sitzen nun alle auf Stühlen von Sedus.

Kurze Anmerkung: Der Hocker im obigen Bild ist natürlich das genaue Gegenteil von einem ergonomischen Stuhl (wurde zum Zeitpunkt des Fotos noch nicht geliefert). 🤣

Zweiter Monitor

Ein Laptop-Bildschirm allein reicht möglicherweise nicht aus, vor allem wenn Sie es gewohnt sind, mit einem großen Monitor oder mehreren Bildschirmen zu arbeiten. Die Preise für Home Office Monitore variieren je nach Größe, Qualität und Funktionen erheblich, aber Einsteigermodelle können recht preiswert sein.

Wenn Sie viel mit Grafiken oder Videos arbeiten, benötigen Sie einen hochauflösenden Monitor mit präzisen Farben. Monitore gibt es in verschiedenen Größen, was ebenfalls ein wichtiges Detail für den Kauf ist. Sie sollten genug Abstand zum Monitor haben, da dies sonst schlechte Auswirkungen auf Ihre Augen haben könnte und schneller zu Ermüdungserscheinungen führt.

Bei XALT arbeiten wir gerne mit Monitoren von DELL, zum Beispiel dem S2721QS.

Berücksichtigen Sie also den verfügbaren Platz, die Höhe und Tiefe Ihres Schreibtisches und die Höhe Ihres Stuhles. Der größte Monitor muss nicht unbedingt der beste für Ihre Bedürfnisse sein.

Laptop-Ständer

Um gesundheitliche Probleme wie Rückenschmerzen, Nackenschmerzen und Augenschmerzen im Home Office zu vermeiden, sollten Sie beim Arbeiten am Computer einen Laptopständer verwenden. Ein Laptopständer sollte Teil jeder guten Home Office Ausstattung sein, er erhöht den Bildschirm des Computers und hilft Ihnen, Ihr Laptop auf Augenhöhe zu positionieren.
Gleichzeitig verbessern Sie Ihre Sitzposition und beugen hierduch Rückenschmerzen vor. Indem der Laptop erhöht wird, verbessert sich die Luftzirkulation und es entsteht weniger Hitze.

Wir können den Ständer von Rain Design für knapp 55 Euro empfehlen
Die Anschaffungskosten variieren je nach Marke und Größe des Produkts. Tragbare Ständer sind in der Regel etwas teurer als fix montierte Modelle.

Wireless Keyboard und Maus

Wenn Sie Ihren Laptop auf einen Ständer stellen, wie oben empfohlen, sollten Sie für Ihr Heimbüro in eine kabellose Tastatur investieren. Für eine einfache kabellose Tastatur und Maus, die ihren Zweck erfüllt, müssen Sie nicht viel Geld ausgeben.

Achten Sie auf eine lange Akkulaufzeit, damit Sie nicht mehr Zeit damit verbringen, die Geräte aufzuladen, als sie zu benutzen. Wenn Sie viel mit Zahlen arbeiten, sollten Sie eine Tastatur mit einem separaten Ziffernblock in Betracht ziehen. Achten Sie auch auf den Geräuschpegel. Einige Tastaturen sind viel lauter als andere, was in kleinen Wohnungen ein echtes Problem sein kann!

Eine gute kabellose Maus können Sie für ein paar Euro bekommen oder etwas mehr ausgeben, um einige praktische Funktionen hinzuzufügen. Die Maus MX Master 3 Maus von Logitech wird über Bluetooth oder USB-Empfänger angeschlossen, lässt sich auf fast jeder Oberfläche bedienen und unterstützt bis zu drei Computer gleichzeitig. Daher ist diese perfekt für unser Office, da hier die Arbeitsplätze von mehreren Mitarbeitern genutzt werden.

Natürlich sind die Magic Mouse und das Magic Keyboard von Apple unschlagbar – manchen ist die MX Master 3 aufgrund des ergonomischen Designs jeodch lieber.

Headset for remote work

Headset

Für Heimarbeiter, die in kleinen Teams arbeiten oder sich mit Kollegen in anderen Büros verbinden müssen, ist ein gutes Headset ein unverzichtbares Hilfsmittel. Es gibt zwei wichtige Punkte auf die man beim Headset achten sollte: Headsets mit Geräuschunterdrückung und drahtlose Bluetooth-Geräte. Headsets sehen professionell aus und helfen Ihnen, auch in einer etwas lauteren Umgebung ungestörte Gespräche zu führen.

Beim Headset setzen wir bei XALT voll auf die Produkte von Jabra – entweder den Evolve 30 MS mit Kabel oder den Evolve2 65 wireless.
Für Besprechungen mit mehrere Mitarbeitern im selben Raum nutzen wir in München und Leipzig den Jabra Speak 510.

Fazit

Die richtige Home Office Ausstattung und vor allem auch gutes Zubehör ist aus unserer Sicht sehr wichtig. Ja, es ist nicht ganz günstig und man kommt hier schnell in einen vierstelligen Eurobereich. Aber das Geld ist gut investiert, da es sich positiv auf die eigene Gesundheit (Rücken, Augen, Handgelenke, usw.) auswirkt und man deutlich entspannter arbeiten kann.

Unser Team entscheidet selbst, wo es arbeiten möchte: im Büro (München oder Leipzig), im Home Office oder in einem Coworking Space wie zum Beispiel Design Offices.

Manchmal möchte man niemanden um sich herum haben, um sich zu konzentrieren und Dinge besser abzuarbeiten. Und an manchen Tagen möchte man sich im Büro mit seinen Kollegen über gemeinsame Projekte austauschen oder braucht einen Tapetenwechsel von zu Hause.

Deshalb bietet XALT seinen Teammitgliedern die Möglichkeit, den Arbeitsort selbst zu wählen und stellt die richtige Ausstattung für das Homeoffice zur Verfügung.

Das könnte dich auch interessieren

Benedikt Dollinger 2022-08-10
0

5 key skills for becoming a DevSecOps engineer

Read about the 5 key skills for becoming a DevSecOps engineer. Security has become an increasingly integral part of software development.

DevOps
Benedikt Dollinger 2022-07-20
0

Die beste Ausstattung für dein Home Office

Remote Work ist in aller Munde und aus der modernen Arbeitswelt nicht mehr weg zu

XALT News
Mario Schaefer 2022-06-27
0

Console.log podcast interview with Fabienne

Unsere Mitarbeiterin Fabienne Gerhard war zu Gast im Podcast console.log (“hello heroes”); Ihrer ehemaligen Hochschule;

XALT News
Einkaufskorb

B/S/H

Die BSH Hausgeräte GmbH ist der größte Hersteller von Haushaltsgeräten in Europa und eines der weltweit führenden Unternehmen in dieser Branche.

Projekte & Lösungen